Compare two US 1500 VA / 900 W line-interactive units by battery-mode waveform, backed outlets, matched-load runtime estimates and shutdown connections.
The decision in brief
How the options differ
Both are rated 1500 VA / 900 W at 120 V. APC specifies sine-wave output on battery, while Tripp Lite's datasheet and manual describe PWM output in battery mode. APC also lists one more battery-backed outlet and slightly longer manufacturer estimates at 100 W and 200 W; neither maker fully states its test conditions, so the estimates are not assumed to be comparable tests.
By CompareFoundry · Published · Editorial review · Manufacturer documentation, not hands-on testing.
The buying guide
Package and specification details
Same output limits, different battery-mode waveform
Both list 1500 VA and a 900 W real-power limit. APC's BR1500MS2 specifications state sine-wave output on battery. Tripp Lite's datasheet table says PWM sine wave and its owner's manual says quasi-sine (PWM) in battery mode, despite pure sine wave wording in the datasheet introduction. If connected equipment needs sine-wave input during an outage, only the APC record establishes it; neither is a CompareFoundry power-quality measurement.
APC lists six battery-backed and four surge-only NEMA 5-15R outlets; Tripp Lite lists five of each. Both use a NEMA 5-15P input on a 6 ft cord. A surge-only socket cannot keep a router, switch or NAS running when utility power fails, so count the devices that must stay on before comparing total outlets.
APC's runtime calculator estimates 73 minutes at 100 W and 36 minutes at 200 W; Tripp Lite's chart gives 67 and 31 minutes. Neither source states battery age, charge state, ambient temperature or load power factor, and the Tripp Lite chart dates from 2012. The published gap is small and the conditions are not assumed to match; leave time for a controlled shutdown either way.
Both packages include a USB communication cable. APC's cable connects to its rear Data Port, and its front USB-A and USB-C ports only charge devices. Tripp Lite documents an HID USB port for PowerAlert or operating-system shutdown and states that network management is not supported; APC's network management is unknown in the reviewed sources. RJ45 jacks on both are surge protection. A documented interface is not a tested NAS shutdown.
Check transfer and battery records before relying on them
Both makers publish conflicting transfer times: APC's page gives 8 ms typical / 10 ms maximum while its manual gives 8 ms maximum, and Tripp Lite's datasheet gives 2 ms / 6 ms while its manual gives 10 ms maximum. Neither is resolved here. Replacement uses APCRBC163 for the BR1500MS2 and two RBC51 cartridges for the SMART1500LCDT, whose datasheet hot-swap claim conflicts with its manual.
Is the SMART1500LCDT a pure sine wave UPS on battery?
Not established. Its datasheet table says PWM sine wave and its manual says quasi-sine (PWM) in battery mode; the pure sine wave wording in marketing text is not used as the resolved value.
The BR1500MS2 lists six battery-backed and four surge-only outlets; the SMART1500LCDT lists five of each. Plug every outage-critical device into a battery-backed outlet within the UPS ratings.
No. Tripp Lite states network management is not supported for the SMART1500LCDT, and APC's reviewed sources establish USB and optional serial communication rather than a network card.
These manufacturer specifications do not establish measured performance, noise, long-term reliability or running cost. We have not independently tested these products. Check current prices, stock and operating-space instructions with the seller and manufacturer.
Tripp Lite series SMART1500LCDT US 120 V unitEaton Tripp Lite series SMART1500LCDT, 1500 VA / 900 W, 120 V, ten NEMA 5-15R outlets; Mfg # SMART1500LCDT, CDW # 2864530; Eaton UPC 037332174109; not SMART1500LCDTXC or SMART1500LCD
Standard exact BR1500MS2 US unit with installed battery and supplied USB communication cable. The optional serial communication cable is not included.
Preserve the MS2 suffix and 120 V region. BR1500MS and other regional suffixes are separate product identities.
The rear Data Port supports the supplied communication cable. Front USB Type-A/Type-C ports charge devices; Ethernet IN/OUT sockets provide surge protection.
Official transfer-time and body-dimension conflicts remain unresolved. Runtime-calculator test conditions are not fully stated.
Reviewed ordinary US purchase destination. Price and live stock are not tracked; no affiliate relationship is asserted.
Select: Eaton Tripp Lite series SMART1500LCDT, 1500 VA / 900 W, 120 V, ten NEMA 5-15R outlets; Mfg # SMART1500LCDT, CDW # 2864530; Eaton UPC 037332174109; not SMART1500LCDTXC or SMART1500LCD
The waveform explicitly documented while the UPS runs from its battery.
Keep sine-wave and simulated or stepped output distinct. Do not infer a waveform from a product family or an omitted specification.
Tripp Lite series SMART1500LCDT US 120 V unitSources disagree
The sources give different answers, so we have not chosen one as fact. Read the attached notes and confirm the current specification before relying on it.
The source’s transfer-time claim with its typical, maximum or other qualification retained.
Do not turn a typical figure into a guaranteed maximum. Device power-supply tolerance and the complete installation still need verification.
Tripp Lite series SMART1500LCDT US 120 V unitSources disagree
The sources give different answers, so we have not chosen one as fact. Read the attached notes and confirm the current specification before relying on it.
Back-UPS Pro BR1500MS2 US 120 V unitSources disagree
The sources give different answers, so we have not chosen one as fact. Read the attached notes and confirm the current specification before relying on it.
Whether the UPS documents a USB data interface for monitoring power status.
This is not a NAS compatibility verdict. USB charging ports do not establish monitoring, and successful detection alone does not prove shutdown or restart.
Tripp Lite series SMART1500LCDT US 120 V unitYesHID-compliant USB port for PowerAlert or operating-system shutdown. The SKU page's series text about RS-232 and EPO ports is not supported by the model datasheet or manual. Manufacturer communication support does not establish a particular NAS model, firmware, shutdown setting or tested outage and restart sequence.Sources · 2026-10-21Eaton (Tripp Lite): SMART1500LCDT product datasheetChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.Eaton (Tripp Lite): Owner's Manual for LCDT-Series UPS Systems (SMART1500LCDT, OMNI1500LCDT, SMART1300LCDT)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Back-UPS Pro BR1500MS2 US 120 V unitYesInventory and connection instructions confirm the supplied USB communication cable. An optional serial cable is not supplied. The rear Data Port connection must not be described as a standard USB Type-B socket without exact connector evidence.Source · 2026-10-03APC by Schneider Electric: Back-UPS Pro 120 Vac user guide EN JPT92208, April 2026Checked 2026-10-03. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Network management scope
Documented network management hardware and protocol support, distinguishing included, optional and unavailable equipment.
An RJ45 surge-protection jack is not a network management interface. NAS network-server relay is a separate software configuration, not a built-in UPS network card.
Tripp Lite series SMART1500LCDT US 120 V unitNot supported; no network management card optionThe datasheet states network management is not supported. Rear RJ45 jacks are surge protection; the SKU page's network-switchable receptacle template text is not used.Source · 2026-10-21Eaton (Tripp Lite): SMART1500LCDT product datasheetChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Back-UPS Pro BR1500MS2 US 120 V unitNot verified
We have not verified this value. It is not a confirmed no or zero. Check the original source or ask the manufacturer if it affects your choice.
A directly documented runtime estimate at a total 100 W load for this revision.
Read the runtime conditions and evidence note. Do not interpolate, convert a half-load claim or present this as measured runtime of a particular NAS.
Tripp Lite series SMART1500LCDT US 120 V unit67 minExact 100 W column of the manufacturer's estimated-runtime chart, not a converted half-load claim. See runtime conditions.Source · 2026-10-21Eaton (Tripp Lite): SMART1500LCDT estimated runtime chartChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Back-UPS Pro BR1500MS2 US 120 V unit73 minVisible manufacturer runtime calculator set to exactly 100 W. This is an estimate, not an independent measurement or a value derived from half-load runtime.Source · 2026-10-03APC by Schneider Electric: BR1500MS2 US purchase page, specifications and runtime calculatorChecked 2026-10-03. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Manufacturer runtime at 200 W
A directly documented runtime estimate at a total 200 W load for this revision.
Compare only the same load and compatible stated conditions. Reserve shutdown time; actual load, charge, age and environment can shorten operation.
Tripp Lite series SMART1500LCDT US 120 V unit31 minExact 200 W column of the manufacturer's estimated-runtime chart, not interpolated. Reserve time for shutdown.Source · 2026-10-21Eaton (Tripp Lite): SMART1500LCDT estimated runtime chartChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Back-UPS Pro BR1500MS2 US 120 V unit36 minVisible manufacturer runtime calculator set to exactly 200 W. This is an estimate, not an interpolation; reserve shutdown time.Source · 2026-10-03APC by Schneider Electric: BR1500MS2 US purchase page, specifications and runtime calculatorChecked 2026-10-03. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Runtime estimate conditions
The stated battery, load and environmental conditions behind the documented runtime estimates, with omissions retained.
Manufacturer estimates are separate from CompareFoundry measurements. A new, fully charged battery estimate is not an installed-system guarantee.
Tripp Lite series SMART1500LCDT US 120 V unitManufacturer estimated-runtime chart (2012) linked from the current product page. Battery age, charge state, ambient temperature and load power factor are not stated.These are manufacturer estimates, not CompareFoundry measurements, and conditions are not assumed to match other brands' tests.Sources · 2026-10-21Eaton (Tripp Lite): SMART1500LCDT estimated runtime chartChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.Eaton: SMART1500LCDT US product page: Tripp Lite series SmartPro LCD 1500VA 900W line-interactive UPSChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Back-UPS Pro BR1500MS2 US 120 V unitManufacturer runtime-calculator estimate at the stated absolute load. Battery age, charge state, ambient temperature and load power factor are not stated; real runtime varies.The reviewed calculator did not state the same new-battery/full-charge conditions used on the CyberPower pages. Do not claim the manufacturers' tests share controlled conditions.Source · 2026-10-03APC by Schneider Electric: BR1500MS2 US purchase page, specifications and runtime calculatorChecked 2026-10-03. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Unit weight
Published unit weight for the reviewed configuration, with battery scope qualified by the source.
Keep shipping weight separate. Plan a stable location with the manufacturer’s required ventilation and access.
Tripp Lite series SMART1500LCDT US 120 V unitSources disagree
The sources give different answers, so we have not chosen one as fact. Read the attached notes and confirm the current specification before relying on it.
Published body dimensions with the source’s axis order and units.
Body measurements are not installation clearance. Allow for plugs, cable bends, ventilation and battery replacement access.
Tripp Lite series SMART1500LCDT US 120 V unitSources disagree
The sources give different answers, so we have not chosen one as fact. Read the attached notes and confirm the current specification before relying on it.
Back-UPS Pro BR1500MS2 US 120 V unitSources disagree
The sources give different answers, so we have not chosen one as fact. Read the attached notes and confirm the current specification before relying on it.
Battery-mode waveform is conflicting: PWM sine wave in the datasheet versus quasi-sine (PWM) in the manual, with pure sine wave marketing wording elsewhere.
Transfer time conflicts between the datasheet (2 ms / 6 ms) and the manual (10 ms maximum); weight and metric depth are internally inconsistent in the datasheet.
The runtime chart dates from 2012 and does not state test conditions.
The SKU page carries series template text (RS-232, EPO, network-switchable outlets) not supported by the model datasheet or manual. No physical runtime or shutdown test was performed.
Back-UPS Pro BR1500MS2 US 120 V unit
Transfer time is conflicting: current US page 8 ms typical / 10 ms maximum versus April 2026 manual 8 ms maximum. No resolved transfer limit is asserted.
Body dimensions are conflicting, including internally inconsistent inch/mm values in the current linked manual. No body-size or installation-fit assertion is resolved.
The manufacturer runtime calculator supplies the exact 100 W and 200 W estimates, but does not state battery age, charge state, numeric ambient temperature or load power factor. These conditions are not assumed to match CyberPower's.
No physical USB shutdown, power-outage or restoration test was performed. A supplied data cable does not establish exact NAS/firmware compatibility.
Network management is unknown from the reviewed sources. Ethernet surge-protection connectors must not be treated as a network management interface.
Allow Google Analytics to measure page visits, engagement and clicks to sellers? It uses analytics cookies. Your choice won’t affect the comparison tools. Read our privacy policy.