APC Back-UPS Pro BR1500MS2 vs CyberPower CP1500PFCLCD (1000 W)
Two 1500 VA sine-wave line-interactive units: compare the 900 W and 1000 W real-power limits and the backed outlet counts. Manufacturer runtime estimates at 100 W and 200 W, replacement batteries and transfer-time evidence are covered.
The decision in brief
How the options differ
Both are US 120 V 1500 VA units with sine-wave battery output and a supplied USB management cable. BR1500MS2 is rated 900 W with six backed and four surge-only outlets; the current CP1500PFCLCD generation is rated 1000 W with six backed and six surge-only outlets. Manufacturer estimates give 73 and 36 minutes for the APC at 100 W and 200 W versus 66 and 30.8 minutes for the CyberPower, under differently stated conditions. The APC's transfer time and body dimensions are conflicting between its page and manual.
By CompareFoundry · Published · Editorial review · Manufacturer documentation, not hands-on testing.
The buying guide
Package and specification details
Use the watt rating and the outlet counts, not the VA figure
The shared 1500 VA apparent-power rating hides a difference in real power: 900 W for BR1500MS2 and 1000 W for the current CP1500PFCLCD. Both provide six battery-backed NEMA 5-15R outlets; the APC adds four surge-only outlets and the CyberPower six. Front USB charging ports are separate from the rear management connection on both units, and outlet counts refer to AC receptacles only.
Read the runtime estimates with their stated conditions
APC's visible calculator set to exactly 100 W and 200 W displayed 73 and 36 minutes, without stating new-battery or full-charge conditions. CyberPower's Runtime table lists 66 minutes at 100 W and 30.8 minutes at 200 W, described as estimates with fully charged new batteries under normal conditions. Neither is a CompareFoundry measurement; reserve time for a clean shutdown and expect battery age and temperature to change the result.
Check replacement batteries, transfer time and generation before buying
BR1500MS2 uses the APCRBC163 cartridge. The CP1500PFCLCD's cartridge depends on the serial prefix: RB1290X2 for CXX, RB1280X2B for CR9, CXF or CQC. CyberPower states a 4 ms typical transfer; the APC page states 8 ms typical / 10 ms maximum while its April 2026 manual states 8 ms maximum, so no limit is resolved. The CyberPower identity is the current 1000 W / twelve-outlet generation, not the older 900 W / ten-outlet product sold under the same base name.
Neither standard package does. CyberPower lists the RMCARD205 card as optional and not in the standard inventory; for the BR1500MS2 the reviewed sources establish USB and optional serial communication only. Rear Ethernet sockets on either unit are surge protection, not management.
These manufacturer specifications do not establish measured performance, noise, long-term reliability or running cost. We have not independently tested these products. Check current prices, stock and operating-space instructions with the seller and manufacturer.
Standard exact BR1500MS2 US unit with installed battery and supplied USB communication cable. The optional serial communication cable is not included.
Preserve the MS2 suffix and 120 V region. BR1500MS and other regional suffixes are separate product identities.
The rear Data Port supports the supplied communication cable. Front USB Type-A/Type-C ports charge devices; Ethernet IN/OUT sockets provide surge protection.
Official transfer-time and body-dimension conflicts remain unresolved. Runtime-calculator test conditions are not fully stated.
Reviewed ordinary US purchase destination. Price and live stock are not tracked; no affiliate relationship is asserted.
CP1500PFCLCD 1000 W / twelve-outlet US 120 V unitCP1500PFCLCD, 1500 VA / 1000 W, twelve outlets, current color LCD, US 120 V; B&H item 1513053, UPC 649532609642
Standard US UPS with installed batteries, integral AC cord, supplied USB A+B Type communication cable, user manual and function guide. Optional RMCARD205 network card is not included.
This package is the current 1000 W / twelve-outlet generation. The older 900 W / ten-outlet B&H item 1512415 is not interchangeable.
Replacement cartridge must follow the delivered unit's serial prefix: RB1290X2 for CXX; RB1280X2B for CR9, CXF or CQC. The merchant page does not establish that prefix.
USB HID communication is not a guarantee of a particular NAS/OS pairing or tested shutdown/restart behavior.
Reviewed ordinary US purchase destination. Price and live stock are not tracked; no affiliate relationship is asserted.
CP1500PFCLCD 1000 W / twelve-outlet US 120 V unitLine interactive; single-boost AVRThe manufacturer specifies +11.5% voltage correction. Adjustable sensitivity and inconsistent threshold documentation do not establish a fixed transfer boundary.Sources · 2026-10-03CyberPower: CP1500PFCLCD US 1000 W / twelve-outlet product specifications and runtime tableChecked 2026-10-03. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.CyberPower: CP1500PFCLCD 1000 W / twelve-outlet datasheetChecked 2026-10-03. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Output waveform on battery
The waveform explicitly documented while the UPS runs from its battery.
Keep sine-wave and simulated or stepped output distinct. Do not infer a waveform from a product family or an omitted specification.
CP1500PFCLCD 1000 W / twelve-outlet US 120 V unitNEMA 5-15P input; NEMA 5-15R AC outletsIntegral 5 ft input cord. Front USB Type-A and Type-C ports provide 5 V charging with 3.1 A shared; they are separate from the rear USB management connection.Sources · 2026-10-03CyberPower: CP1500PFCLCD US 1000 W / twelve-outlet product specifications and runtime tableChecked 2026-10-03. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.CyberPower: CP1500PFCLCD 1000 W / twelve-outlet datasheetChecked 2026-10-03. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Qualified transfer time
The source’s transfer-time claim with its typical, maximum or other qualification retained.
Do not turn a typical figure into a guaranteed maximum. Device power-supply tolerance and the complete installation still need verification.
Back-UPS Pro BR1500MS2 US 120 V unitSources disagree
The sources give different answers, so we have not chosen one as fact. Read the attached notes and confirm the current specification before relying on it.
Whether the UPS documents a USB data interface for monitoring power status.
This is not a NAS compatibility verdict. USB charging ports do not establish monitoring, and successful detection alone does not prove shutdown or restart.
Whether the exact package documents the USB data cable needed for its monitoring connection.
Check both cable ends and the receiving device. Included charging cables and optional management cables do not establish this field.
Back-UPS Pro BR1500MS2 US 120 V unitYesInventory and connection instructions confirm the supplied USB communication cable. An optional serial cable is not supplied. The rear Data Port connection must not be described as a standard USB Type-B socket without exact connector evidence.Source · 2026-10-03APC by Schneider Electric: Back-UPS Pro 120 Vac user guide EN JPT92208, April 2026Checked 2026-10-03. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Documented network management hardware and protocol support, distinguishing included, optional and unavailable equipment.
An RJ45 surge-protection jack is not a network management interface. NAS network-server relay is a separate software configuration, not a built-in UPS network card.
Back-UPS Pro BR1500MS2 US 120 V unitNot verified
We have not verified this value. It is not a confirmed no or zero. Check the original source or ask the manufacturer if it affects your choice.
CP1500PFCLCD 1000 W / twelve-outlet US 120 V unitRB1290X2: CXX serial prefix; RB1280X2B: CR9, CXF or CQCOne replacement cartridge contains the pair of batteries. The current specifications list two 12 V / 9 Ah sealed lead-acid batteries. Check the actual unit serial; the merchant model name does not establish which cartridge it needs. User-replaceable, not hot-swappable.Sources · 2026-10-03CyberPower: CP1500PFCLCD US 1000 W / twelve-outlet product specifications and runtime tableChecked 2026-10-03. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.CyberPower: CP1500PFCLCD 1000 W / twelve-outlet datasheetChecked 2026-10-03. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Manufacturer runtime at 100 W
A directly documented runtime estimate at a total 100 W load for this revision.
Read the runtime conditions and evidence note. Do not interpolate, convert a half-load claim or present this as measured runtime of a particular NAS.
Back-UPS Pro BR1500MS2 US 120 V unit73 minVisible manufacturer runtime calculator set to exactly 100 W. This is an estimate, not an independent measurement or a value derived from half-load runtime.Source · 2026-10-03APC by Schneider Electric: BR1500MS2 US purchase page, specifications and runtime calculatorChecked 2026-10-03. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
CP1500PFCLCD 1000 W / twelve-outlet US 120 V unit66 minExact 100 W row in the manufacturer's Runtime, View Table, not a converted half-load claim. See the runtime-conditions field; no installed-system guarantee.Source · 2026-10-03CyberPower: CP1500PFCLCD US 1000 W / twelve-outlet product specifications and runtime tableChecked 2026-10-03. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Manufacturer runtime at 200 W
A directly documented runtime estimate at a total 200 W load for this revision.
Compare only the same load and compatible stated conditions. Reserve shutdown time; actual load, charge, age and environment can shorten operation.
Back-UPS Pro BR1500MS2 US 120 V unit36 minVisible manufacturer runtime calculator set to exactly 200 W. This is an estimate, not an interpolation; reserve shutdown time.Source · 2026-10-03APC by Schneider Electric: BR1500MS2 US purchase page, specifications and runtime calculatorChecked 2026-10-03. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
CP1500PFCLCD 1000 W / twelve-outlet US 120 V unit30.8 minExact 200 W row in the manufacturer's Runtime, View Table, not interpolated. See the runtime-conditions field; reserve time for shutdown.Source · 2026-10-03CyberPower: CP1500PFCLCD US 1000 W / twelve-outlet product specifications and runtime tableChecked 2026-10-03. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Runtime estimate conditions
The stated battery, load and environmental conditions behind the documented runtime estimates, with omissions retained.
Manufacturer estimates are separate from CompareFoundry measurements. A new, fully charged battery estimate is not an installed-system guarantee.
Back-UPS Pro BR1500MS2 US 120 V unitManufacturer runtime-calculator estimate at the stated absolute load. Battery age, charge state, ambient temperature and load power factor are not stated; real runtime varies.The reviewed calculator did not state the same new-battery/full-charge conditions used on the CyberPower pages. Do not claim the manufacturers' tests share controlled conditions.Source · 2026-10-03APC by Schneider Electric: BR1500MS2 US purchase page, specifications and runtime calculatorChecked 2026-10-03. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
CP1500PFCLCD 1000 W / twelve-outlet US 120 V unitManufacturer estimate with fully charged, new batteries under normal operating conditions; battery age, charge and environment affect runtime. Numeric test temperature and load power factor are not stated.These values are manufacturer estimates, not CompareFoundry measurements. Model load ratings and outlet counts do not determine an installation's actual consumption.Source · 2026-10-03CyberPower: CP1500PFCLCD US 1000 W / twelve-outlet product specifications and runtime tableChecked 2026-10-03. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Unit weight
Published unit weight for the reviewed configuration, with battery scope qualified by the source.
Keep shipping weight separate. Plan a stable location with the manufacturer’s required ventilation and access.
Published body dimensions with the source’s axis order and units.
Body measurements are not installation clearance. Allow for plugs, cable bends, ventilation and battery replacement access.
Back-UPS Pro BR1500MS2 US 120 V unitSources disagree
The sources give different answers, so we have not chosen one as fact. Read the attached notes and confirm the current specification before relying on it.
Transfer time is conflicting: current US page 8 ms typical / 10 ms maximum versus April 2026 manual 8 ms maximum. No resolved transfer limit is asserted.
Body dimensions are conflicting, including internally inconsistent inch/mm values in the current linked manual. No body-size or installation-fit assertion is resolved.
The manufacturer runtime calculator supplies the exact 100 W and 200 W estimates, but does not state battery age, charge state, numeric ambient temperature or load power factor. These conditions are not assumed to match CyberPower's.
No physical USB shutdown, power-outage or restoration test was performed. A supplied data cable does not establish exact NAS/firmware compatibility.
Network management is unknown from the reviewed sources. Ethernet surge-protection connectors must not be treated as a network management interface.
CP1500PFCLCD 1000 W / twelve-outlet US 120 V unit
This identity is the current 1000 W / twelve-outlet generation, not the older 900 W / ten-outlet product sold under the same base model name. Historical exact-name compatibility reports do not establish support for this revision.
Replacement cartridge depends on the actual serial prefix: RB1290X2 for CXX; RB1280X2B for CR9, CXF or CQC. A merchant listing does not reveal the serial of a unit that will ship.
The manual's technical table incorrectly labels five UPS outlets; its own description and current product page/datasheet show six backed and six surge-only outlets. Its generic battery instruction omits current serial conditions.
No physical runtime or NAS shutdown/restart test was performed. USB HID and optional network-card support do not prove a particular NAS/OS pairing or cross-vendor shutdown-server interoperability.
Manual and datasheet software-edition references differ. No PowerPanel edition entitlement is asserted.
Body measurements are not installation clearance; current metric dimensions and the manual's rounded dimensions differ slightly.
Allow Google Analytics to measure page visits, engagement and clicks to sellers? It uses analytics cookies. Your choice won’t affect the comparison tools. Read our privacy policy.