A considered comparison

Kodak Dock Plus PD460 vs Canon SELPHY CP1500

Two postcard-size dye-sublimation printers: compare cartridges, the starting supply, how photos arrive and how each is powered.

The decision in brief

How the options differ

Both make postcard-size dye-sublimation prints, but their consumables are different systems. The Kodak package starts with a 10-sheet cartridge and accepts a docked phone or Bluetooth. The Canon offers Wi-Fi, memory cards and computer printing, with an optional battery sold separately.

Sources · 2026-10-13Prinics America (Kodak licensee): KODAK Dock Plus Retro 4x6 Inch PD460 Photo Printer US store pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Canon: SELPHY CP1500 US product and packageChecked 2026-10-13. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Canon: SELPHY CP1500 manufacturer specificationsChecked 2026-10-13. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.

By · Published · Editorial review · Manufacturer documentation, not hands-on testing.

The buying guide

Package and specification details

Buy the matching consumables

The Kodak uses the PHC-80 cartridge, which combines ink ribbon and paper. The Canon uses SELPHY color ink and paper sets with a matching cassette. Do not assume either consumable fits the other printer; plan a continuing supply in the right system before choosing.

Sources · 2026-10-13Prinics America (Kodak licensee): KODAK Dock Plus Retro 4x6 Inch PD460 Photo Printer US store pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Canon: SELPHY CP1500 US product and packageChecked 2026-10-13. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.

Compare the finished print size

Kodak describes a 4 x 6 in postcard-size photo without stating image area or borders. Canon gives postcard paper as 100 x 148 mm after removing the perforated ends, or 100 x 177 mm before. Compare finished sheets on the same basis.

Sources · 2026-10-13Prinics America (Kodak licensee): KODAK Dock Plus Retro 4x6 Inch PD460 Photo Printer US store pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Canon: SELPHY CP1500 manufacturer specificationsChecked 2026-10-13. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.

Check what is in the box

The selected Kodak package shows an initial cartridge with 10 sheets, a paper tray, power adapter, cord and Lightning adapter. Canon supplies a postcard paper cassette and power adapter; inclusion of ink and paper in its standard package was not established. A cassette is a holder, not paper.

Sources · 2026-10-13Prinics America (Kodak licensee): KODAK Dock Plus Retro 4x6 Inch PD460 Photo Printer US store pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Canon: SELPHY CP1500 US product and packageChecked 2026-10-13. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.

Choose how photos reach the printer

The Kodak prints from the Kodak app over Bluetooth or from a phone docked on its USB-C connector, and computer photos must go through a phone. The Canon documents 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi with an app or AirPrint, supported computer printing, SD-family memory cards and USB flash drives.

Sources · 2026-10-13Prinics America (Kodak licensee): KODAK Dock Plus Retro 4x6 Inch PD460 Photo Printer US store pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Canon: SELPHY CP1500 US product and packageChecked 2026-10-13. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Canon: SELPHY CP1500 manufacturer specificationsChecked 2026-10-13. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.

Plan the power arrangement

Canon offers NB-CP2LI or NB-CP2LH battery packs separately and does not support USB charging. Kodak lists a power adapter and cord and documents no battery; that is not proof either way for travel use.

Sources · 2026-10-13Prinics America (Kodak licensee): KODAK Dock Plus Retro 4x6 Inch PD460 Photo Printer US store pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Canon: SELPHY CP1500 manufacturer specificationsChecked 2026-10-13. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.

Common questions

Is the Dock Plus made by Kodak?

The store names Prinics America as the operator and says the Kodak trademark logo and trade dress are used under license from Kodak.

Source · 2026-10-21Prinics America (Kodak licensee): KODAK Dock Plus Retro 4x6 Inch PD460 Photo Printer US store pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Can I print from a computer?

Canon documents supported computer printing. Kodak says computer photos must be transferred to a phone and printed through its app.

Sources · 2026-10-13Prinics America (Kodak licensee): KODAK Dock Plus Retro 4x6 Inch PD460 Photo Printer US store pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Canon: SELPHY CP1500 US product and packageChecked 2026-10-13. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.

Evidence limits

These manufacturer specifications do not establish measured performance, noise, long-term reliability or running cost. We have not independently tested these products. Check current prices, stock and operating-space instructions with the seller and manufacturer.

Product specifications and sources

These notes apply to the starting packages. Changing a selection opens your own comparison and hides the notes that no longer apply.

Report a correction

Compare the starting packages

Scroll sideways to see every option. Open a field explanation or source for its conditions.

Documented specifications and exact purchase packages
Compare the detailsDock Plus Retro PD460 White with 10-sheet starter cartridge (US package)SELPHY CP1500 black standard US package
Community reviews

No community reviews yet.
Purchase packages of the same model share one community score.

Read all reviews Write a review

No community reviews yet.
Purchase packages of the same model share one community score.

Read all reviews Write a review
US purchase packageKODAK Dock Plus Retro 4x6 Inch PD460, White, option Printer with 10 initial sheets, SKU PD460Y_NEW (GTIN 192143003328); not a separate PHC-80 cartridge bundle.

Product & sources

Box contents per the store image: printer, paper tray, power adapter, power cord, Lightning adapter, quick start manual and an initial ink cartridge with 10 sheets.

Sold by Prinics America under a Kodak trademark license. Replacement PHC-80 cartridges are separate purchases.

Price, stock and delivery are not asserted.

Source · 2026-10-21Prinics America (Kodak licensee): KODAK Dock Plus Retro 4x6 Inch PD460 Photo Printer US store pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Canon SELPHY CP1500 Black, 5539C001, standard new printer; no battery or media bundle.

Product & sources

Select the black 5539C001 standard package. Optional battery and seller media bundles are not assumed included.

Sources · 2026-10-13Canon: SELPHY CP1500 US product and packageChecked 2026-10-13. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.B&H Photo Video: Canon CP1500 black 5539C001 US listingChecked 2026-10-13. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Where to buy

Select: KODAK Dock Plus Retro 4x6 Inch PD460, White, option Printer with 10 initial sheets, SKU PD460Y_NEW (GTIN 192143003328); not a separate PHC-80 cartridge bundle.

View at Kodak Photo Printer (Prinics America) — Dock Plus Retro PD460 White with 10-sheet starter cartridge (US package); opens in a new tab

The link may open several packages. Check current price and availability with the seller. Opens in a new tab.

Select: Canon SELPHY CP1500 Black, 5539C001, standard new printer; no battery or media bundle.

View at B&H Photo Video — SELPHY CP1500 black standard US package; opens in a new tab

The link may open several packages. Check current price and availability with the seller. Opens in a new tab.

4PASS dye sublimation with a protective lamination layer.
Source · 2026-10-21Prinics America (Kodak licensee): KODAK Dock Plus Retro 4x6 Inch PD460 Photo Printer US store pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Dye-sublimation thermal transfer.
Source · 2026-10-13Canon: SELPHY CP1500 manufacturer specificationsChecked 2026-10-13. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Kodak PHC-80 4 x 6 in photo cartridge, combining ink ribbon and paper.Other Kodak cartridge sizes are listed for different printers.
Source · 2026-10-21Prinics America (Kodak licensee): KODAK Dock Plus Retro 4x6 Inch PD460 Photo Printer US store pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Compatible SELPHY colour-ink/paper sets; postcard paper cassette supplied. Card-size media needs its matching cassette.
Source · 2026-10-13Canon: SELPHY CP1500 US product and packageChecked 2026-10-13. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
4 x 6 in (postcard-size) single-sided photo; image area and border handling are not stated.
Source · 2026-10-21Prinics America (Kodak licensee): KODAK Dock Plus Retro 4x6 Inch PD460 Photo Printer US store pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Postcard paper: 100 x 148 mm after removing perforated ends; before removal 100 x 177 mm.
Source · 2026-10-13Canon: SELPHY CP1500 manufacturer specificationsChecked 2026-10-13. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Bluetooth.No Bluetooth version is stated. The USB-C dock is a wired phone connection, not a wireless one.
Source · 2026-10-21Prinics America (Kodak licensee): KODAK Dock Plus Retro 4x6 Inch PD460 Photo Printer US store pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
2.4 GHz Wi-Fi; check the supported connection and security mode.
Source · 2026-10-13Canon: SELPHY CP1500 manufacturer specificationsChecked 2026-10-13. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Kodak app on iOS or Android over Bluetooth, or by docking the phone on the USB-C connector (Lightning adapter included). Computer photos must be moved to a phone first.
Source · 2026-10-21Prinics America (Kodak licensee): KODAK Dock Plus Retro 4x6 Inch PD460 Photo Printer US store pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Phone app or AirPrint, supported computer printing, SD-family memory cards and compatible USB flash drives.
Source · 2026-10-13Canon: SELPHY CP1500 US product and packageChecked 2026-10-13. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Not verified

We have not verified this value. It is not a confirmed no or zero. Check the original source or ask the manufacturer if it affects your choice.

The package lists a power adapter and power cord; no battery is documented, which does not establish its absence.
Source · 2026-10-21Prinics America (Kodak licensee): KODAK Dock Plus Retro 4x6 Inch PD460 Photo Printer US store pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
NoNB-CP2LI or NB-CP2LH battery packs are optional and separately sold.
Source · 2026-10-13Canon: SELPHY CP1500 manufacturer specificationsChecked 2026-10-13. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Not verified

We have not verified this value. It is not a confirmed no or zero. Check the original source or ask the manufacturer if it affects your choice.

The page says a docked phone is charged; charging of the printer itself is not documented.
Source · 2026-10-21Prinics America (Kodak licensee): KODAK Dock Plus Retro 4x6 Inch PD460 Photo Printer US store pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
No
Source · 2026-10-13Canon: SELPHY CP1500 manufacturer specificationsChecked 2026-10-13. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Not verified

We have not verified this value. It is not a confirmed no or zero. Check the original source or ask the manufacturer if it affects your choice.

No printer battery or charging connector is documented; mains power uses the supplied adapter and cord.
Source · 2026-10-21Prinics America (Kodak licensee): KODAK Dock Plus Retro 4x6 Inch PD460 Photo Printer US store pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Not applicable

This field does not apply to this purchase option. It is different from a value we have not verified.

USB charging/power supply is not provided. Use the documented adapter or optional compatible battery arrangement.
Source · 2026-10-13Canon: SELPHY CP1500 manufacturer specificationsChecked 2026-10-13. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
YesAn initial ink cartridge with 10 sheets is shown in the box contents, and the selected option is Printer with 10 initial sheets. It is a starter supply only.
Source · 2026-10-21Prinics America (Kodak licensee): KODAK Dock Plus Retro 4x6 Inch PD460 Photo Printer US store pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Not verified

We have not verified this value. It is not a confirmed no or zero. Check the original source or ask the manufacturer if it affects your choice.

A supplied paper cassette is documented, but consumable ink/paper inclusion in this exact standard package was not established.
Source · 2026-10-13Canon: SELPHY CP1500 US product and packageChecked 2026-10-13. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Power adapter, power cord, paper tray, Lightning adapter, quick start manual and an initial cartridge with 10 sheets.Taken from the page box-contents image.
Source · 2026-10-21Prinics America (Kodak licensee): KODAK Dock Plus Retro 4x6 Inch PD460 Photo Printer US store pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Compact power adapter and postcard paper cassette; battery pack sold separately. Recheck exact seller contents.
Source · 2026-10-13Canon: SELPHY CP1500 US product and packageChecked 2026-10-13. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
760 gScope not stated; whether the tray, cartridge or adapter is included is not given.
Source · 2026-10-21Prinics America (Kodak licensee): KODAK Dock Plus Retro 4x6 Inch PD460 Photo Printer US store pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
850 gApproximate printer body only; excludes adapter, cassette, paper and optional battery.
Source · 2026-10-13Canon: SELPHY CP1500 manufacturer specificationsChecked 2026-10-13. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Questions to check before buying

Kodak-branded hardware is sold by licensee Prinics America; battery operation, printer charging and print borders are not documented on the reviewed page.

No print, lamination or phone-docking test was performed.

Read the source notes for the exact package and operating conditions.

Change these selections