A considered comparison

Zyxel XMG-108 vs QNAP QSW-1108-8T-R2

Eight 2.5GbE copper ports either way; decide whether a separate SFP+ uplink slot is worth planning for.

The decision in brief

How the options differ

Both are unmanaged, fanless eight-port 2.5GbE switches. XMG-108 adds one 1G SFP/10G SFP+ uplink slot that needs a separately sourced transceiver; QSW-1108-8T-R2 is copper only. Their power supplies and mounting documentation also differ.

Sources · 2026-10-21Zyxel Networks: XMG100 Series US specifications: XMG-108 columnChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Zyxel Networks: XMG-100 Series User's Guide, Version 1.00 Edition 4 (05/2024)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.QNAP: QSW-1108-8T-R2 hardware specificationsChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Amazon: QNAP QSW-1108-8T-R2-US Amazon US listingChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.Amazon: Zyxel XMG-108 Amazon US listingChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.

By · Published · Editorial review · Manufacturer documentation, not hands-on testing.

The buying guide

Package and specification details

The SFP+ slot is an extra, not a ninth copper port

Zyxel lists eight 2.5GBASE-T ports plus one 1G SFP/10G SFP+ uplink, nine ports in total. Using that slot needs an SFP or SFP+ transceiver, which no reviewed package list includes. QNAP lists eight 2.5GbE RJ45 ports and no uplink slot.

Sources · 2026-10-21Zyxel Networks: XMG100 Series US specifications: XMG-108 columnChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Zyxel Networks: XMG-100 Series User's Guide, Version 1.00 Edition 4 (05/2024)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.QNAP: QSW-1108-8T-R2 hardware specificationsChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.

Aggregate figures cover different port sets

Zyxel states 60 Gb/s switching capacity for the nine-port XMG-108; QNAP states 40 Gb/s for its eight ports. Neither is a single-link speed. A 10 Gb/s uplink only matters if the device at the other end and the chosen module support it.

Sources · 2026-10-21Zyxel Networks: XMG100 Series US specifications: XMG-108 columnChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.QNAP: QSW-1108-8T-R2 hardware specificationsChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.

Power and mounting documentation differ

Zyxel lists a 9.12 W maximum and an external supply with 100-240 V AC input; its guide describes a plug-in adapter and wall mounting on two M4 screws spaced 188 mm apart, which it does not list as supplied. QNAP lists a 12 W maximum, a 12 V / 1 A DC input and a desktop form factor, and packs bracket screws and anchors. These are stated maxima, not a measured comparison.

Sources · 2026-10-21Zyxel Networks: XMG100 Series US specifications: XMG-108 columnChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Zyxel Networks: XMG-100 Series User's Guide, Version 1.00 Edition 4 (05/2024)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.QNAP: QSW-1108-8T-R2 hardware specificationsChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.

Confirm the exact listing

The QNAP route is an Amazon US listing for part QSW-1108-8T-R2-US. The Zyxel route is an Amazon US listing that names XMG-108 without a Zyxel SKU suffix or an established seller; it is not the PoE XMG-108HP. Confirm the model, seller and plug before ordering.

Sources · 2026-10-21Amazon: QNAP QSW-1108-8T-R2-US Amazon US listingChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.Amazon: Zyxel XMG-108 Amazon US listingChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.

Common questions

Does XMG-108 include an SFP+ module?

No reviewed source lists one. Zyxel's guide says to use SFP+ transceivers in the uplink slot, so plan for one separately if you intend to use it.

Sources · 2026-10-21Zyxel Networks: XMG-100 Series User's Guide, Version 1.00 Edition 4 (05/2024)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.Amazon: Zyxel XMG-108 Amazon US listingChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.

Evidence limits

These manufacturer specifications do not establish measured performance, noise, long-term reliability or running cost. We have not independently tested these products. Check current prices, stock and operating-space instructions with the seller and manufacturer.

Product specifications and sources

These notes apply to the starting packages. Changing a selection opens your own comparison and hides the notes that no longer apply.

Report a correction

Compare the starting packages

Scroll sideways to see every option. Open a field explanation or source for its conditions.

Documented specifications and exact purchase packages
Compare the detailsXMG-108 (US selection)QSW-1108-8T-R2-US (US selection)
Community reviews

No community reviews yet.
Purchase packages of the same model share one community score.

Read all reviews Write a review

No community reviews yet.
Purchase packages of the same model share one community score.

Read all reviews Write a review
US purchase packageZyxel XMG-108, the non-PoE 8 x 2.5G switch with one 10G SFP+ uplink slot, new single unit; not XMG-108HP, MG-108, XMG-105 or a bundle with SFP+ modules.

Product & sources

Single switch with its power adapter. No SFP/SFP+ transceiver, direct-attach cable, Ethernet cable or wall-mount screw is established as included.

The seller, US plug type and current offer were not verified, and a second Amazon US listing also names XMG-108. No throughput or installation test is claimed.

Sources · 2026-10-21Amazon: Zyxel XMG-108 Amazon US listingChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.Zyxel Networks: XMG100 Series US specifications: XMG-108 columnChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
QSW-1108-8T-R2-US, new single switch; confirm the seller at checkout. Not the legacy QSW-1108-8T, the five-port QSW-1105-5T or a managed QSW-M model.

Product & sources

Single standard US switch package. Confirm the R2 marking and the -US adapter; no live-stock, cabling-installation or throughput test is claimed.

Ethernet patch cables are not listed. The bracket screws and anchors in QNAP's package list do not by themselves establish a wall-mount method.

Sources · 2026-10-21Amazon: QNAP QSW-1108-8T-R2-US Amazon US listingChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.QNAP: QSW-1108-8T-R2 hardware specificationsChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Where to buy

Select: Zyxel XMG-108, the non-PoE 8 x 2.5G switch with one 10G SFP+ uplink slot, new single unit; not XMG-108HP, MG-108, XMG-105 or a bundle with SFP+ modules.

View at Amazon — XMG-108 (US selection); opens in a new tab

The link may open several packages. Check current price and availability with the seller. Opens in a new tab.

Select: QSW-1108-8T-R2-US, new single switch; confirm the seller at checkout. Not the legacy QSW-1108-8T, the five-port QSW-1105-5T or a managed QSW-M model.

View at Amazon — QSW-1108-8T-R2-US (US selection); opens in a new tab

The link may open several packages. Check current price and availability with the seller. Opens in a new tab.

8 portsEight 2.5GBASE-T copper ports. The separate 1G SFP/10G SFP+ uplink slot is not a copper port and is not counted here; Zyxel lists nine ports in total.
Sources · 2026-10-21Zyxel Networks: XMG100 Series US specifications: XMG-108 columnChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Zyxel Networks: XMG-100 Series User's Guide, Version 1.00 Edition 4 (05/2024)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
8 ports
Sources · 2026-10-21QNAP: QSW-1108-8T-R2 hardware specificationsChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.QNAP: QSW-1108-8T-R2 US product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
2.5 Gb/sHighest copper-port rate. The SFP+ slot is specified for 1 Gb/s or 10 Gb/s with an SFP or SFP+ transceiver.
Sources · 2026-10-21Zyxel Networks: XMG100 Series US specifications: XMG-108 columnChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Zyxel Networks: XMG-100 Series User's Guide, Version 1.00 Edition 4 (05/2024)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
2.5 Gb/s
Sources · 2026-10-21QNAP: QSW-1108-8T-R2 hardware specificationsChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.QNAP: QSW-1108-8T-R2 US product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
60 Gb/sZyxel's aggregate figure for the nine-port switch; it is not the speed of one port.
Source · 2026-10-21Zyxel Networks: XMG100 Series US specifications: XMG-108 columnChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
40 Gb/sQNAP separately lists 20 Gb/s total non-blocking throughput. Neither figure is the speed of one port.
Sources · 2026-10-21QNAP: QSW-1108-8T-R2 hardware specificationsChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.QNAP: QSW-1108-8T-R2 US product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Yes
Source · 2026-10-21Zyxel Networks: XMG100 Series US specifications: XMG-108 columnChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Yes
Source · 2026-10-21QNAP: QSW-1108-8T-R2 US product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Unmanaged plug-and-play switch; loop detection, a flow-control button and 802.1p priority queuing are documented.
Sources · 2026-10-21Zyxel Networks: XMG100 Series US specifications: XMG-108 columnChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Zyxel Networks: XMG-100 Series User's Guide, Version 1.00 Edition 4 (05/2024)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Unmanaged plug-and-play switch with automatic loop detection.
Sources · 2026-10-21QNAP: QSW-1108-8T-R2 hardware specificationsChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.QNAP: QSW-1108-8T-R2 US product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
100 Mb/s, 1 Gb/s and 2.5 Gb/s on the copper ports; 1 Gb/s or 10 Gb/s on the SFP+ uplink slot.
Sources · 2026-10-21Zyxel Networks: XMG-100 Series User's Guide, Version 1.00 Edition 4 (05/2024)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.Zyxel Networks: XMG100 Series US specifications: XMG-108 columnChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
100 Mb/s, 1 Gb/s and 2.5 Gb/s negotiation documented.
Source · 2026-10-21QNAP: QSW-1108-8T-R2 US product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
9.12 WManufacturer maximum, not a controlled energy comparison. The same table lists 9.12 W for the five-port XMG-105 and 1.56 W minimum for XMG-108.
Source · 2026-10-21Zyxel Networks: XMG100 Series US specifications: XMG-108 columnChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
12 WManufacturer maximum for R2, not a controlled energy comparison. The legacy QSW-1108-8T figure is different and is not applied.
Source · 2026-10-21QNAP: QSW-1108-8T-R2 hardware specificationsChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
External plug-in adapter with no separate power cord; 100-240 V AC, 50/60 Hz input is listed.The DC output rating and the plug type delivered in the US are not stated.
Sources · 2026-10-21Zyxel Networks: XMG100 Series US specifications: XMG-108 columnChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Zyxel Networks: XMG-100 Series User's Guide, Version 1.00 Edition 4 (05/2024)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
External DC adapter; the input is listed as 12 V / 1 A. Confirm the adapter supplied with the -US part.The adapter's AC input rating and US plug are not stated in the reviewed table.
Source · 2026-10-21QNAP: QSW-1108-8T-R2 hardware specificationsChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Desktop or wall mounting; wall mounting uses two M4 screws spaced 188 mm apart, with optional anchors.The guide does not list the screws or anchors as supplied.
Source · 2026-10-21Zyxel Networks: XMG-100 Series User's Guide, Version 1.00 Edition 4 (05/2024)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Desktop form factor. Bracket screws and anchors are packed, but the specification gives no wall-mounting method.Wall mounting is not asserted from the packed hardware alone.
Source · 2026-10-21QNAP: QSW-1108-8T-R2 hardware specificationsChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Switch and power adapter are documented. No SFP/SFP+ transceiver, Ethernet cable or wall-mount screws are listed.Zyxel's guide gives no complete packing list; confirm the delivered box.
Sources · 2026-10-21Zyxel Networks: XMG-100 Series User's Guide, Version 1.00 Edition 4 (05/2024)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.Amazon: Zyxel XMG-108 Amazon US listingChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Power supply, bracket screws, anchors, foot pads and quick installation guide are listed.
Source · 2026-10-21QNAP: QSW-1108-8T-R2 hardware specificationsChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Questions to check before buying

Zyxel's US table lists 9.12 W maximum for both the five- and eight-port non-PoE models; confirm the rating on the delivered unit's label.

The reviewed Amazon US listing names XMG-108 without a Zyxel SKU suffix or an established seller, and a second Amazon US listing also names XMG-108; the plug type was not verified.

XMG-108 is not the PoE XMG-108HP, the earlier MG-108 without an SFP+ slot or the XGS1010-12. SFP+ module compatibility is not established here.

QNAP labels the earlier QSW-1108-8T as Legacy and lists 18 W and 12 V / 1.5 A for it; confirm the R2 marking on the delivered unit before applying these figures.

QNAP lists both 40 Gb/s switching capacity and 20 Gb/s total non-blocking throughput. Neither is a single-link speed or a measured transfer result.

The Amazon US listing names QSW-1108-8T-R2-US, but the adapter plug and box contents were not checked at checkout.

Change these selections