Buying guide 02 / 12V compressor fridges

Portable 12V fridges: temperature ranges, energy figures and conflicting specs

Read the published setting range, the energy or current figure and the specifications that conflict before choosing a 12V compressor fridge. Each figure stays tied to its exact source.

By · Published · Reviewed

On this page

Once the storage layout and power connection are settled, three more documented fields separate the ten portable compressor fridges in the catalogue: the published temperature setting range, the energy or current figure the manufacturer offers and the specifications on which the manufacturer's own sources disagree. Every number below is tied to the exact US package record and its cited source.

Compare setting ranges as published limits

The Dometic CFX5 35 and CFX5 75DZ publish -7°F to 68°F; the product pages pair -7°F with -22°C, which converts to -7.6°F, so the Fahrenheit figure is a rounded specification. The ICECO VL45ProS and VL75ProD publish 0°F to 50°F. The BougeRV CRPRO30 specification table gives -8°F to 50°F while a FAQ on the same page says approximately -7°F; the table entry is retained.

The BougeRV Rocky V3.0 55QT, ICECO APL20, Anker SOLIX EverFrost 2 40L and EcoFlow GLACIER Classic 45L all publish -4°F to 68°F. ICECO qualifies reaching -20°C as dependent on conditions. The GLACIER Classic becomes two separately set zones when its supplied divider is installed, with up to a 22°C (39.6°F) difference between them; without the divider it runs as one zone. The Engel MT45 Platinum publishes -18°C to +10°C, which converts to -0.4°F to 50°F; its display can show Fahrenheit, but Engel prints no Fahrenheit limits.

These are setting ranges, not measured pull-down times or food temperatures.

Separate power ratings from energy figures

A power rating describes electrical input under a stated condition. EcoFlow lists a 55 W compressor power rating for the GLACIER Classic and separate input maxima of 95 W on AC, 100 W from a car socket and 110 W from solar. The Rocky manual gives MAX 80 W and ECO 64 W by mode. Anker's 95 W is the maximum AC input while charging, with a separate 100 W solar limit and a 60 W USB-C limit on the removable battery. The CRPRO30 listing repeats two tables that disagree, MAX 60 W and ECO 45 W against MAX 45 W and ECO 36 W, and its current manual prints 60 W MAX, so no value is selected. Dometic's light-bulb comparison and ICECO's laboratory MAX-mode watts are not treated as ratings. Engel publishes no wattage at all: its service manual gives rated amperage of 2.6 A at 12 V DC, 1.4 A at 24 V DC and 0.71 A on AC, and a 27 W compressor rating, while the US page and 2026 catalogue print different variable current ranges of 0.54–2.35 A and 0.7–2.5 A.

An energy figure describes consumption over time, and each manufacturer states it differently. The VL75ProD v7 manual lists 0.636 kWh over 24 hours without the ambient temperature, setpoints, mode or load. The APL20 manual lists 0.293 kWh per 24 hours with the same omissions. EcoFlow prints 165 Wh per 24 hours at a 39°F setting and 520 Wh per 24 hours at a -0.4°F setting, at 77°F ambient in Eco mode, identically for the 35 L, 45 L and 55 L sizes. Engel links a typical MT45F chart at 12.8 V with no load: 0.54 Ah per hour and 24% running time at 25°C ambient with +5°C cabinet air, and 1.19 Ah per hour with -5°C cabinet air; the chart uses thermostat positions rather than the Platinum digital control, so Engel does not state that it describes the current unit. Anker claims 4.3 days with two fully charged batteries in an empty cooler at 39°F internal and 77°F ambient in Eco mode, while the reviewed package includes one battery; the one-battery claim of 52 hours is not shown to use the same conditions.

Do not multiply a watt rating by 24 to estimate a day's energy: compressors cycle. Runtime claims that depend on an optional battery, such as EcoFlow's 39 hours with the separate 298 Wh plug-in battery, do not describe a battery-free package. CompareFoundry has not measured the consumption of any of these fridges.

Treat conflicting specifications as open questions

Three current models have weights or dimensions that their own sources contradict. The Rocky V3.0 product table lists 49.6 lb, while the manual it links, still named for the ROCKY2 and ROCKY50 generation, lists 20.1 kg without batteries, about 44.3 lb; the same page gives a 730 × 450 × 476 mm body and a different ROCKY50 comparison-table length. The Engel US page lists 55 lb and the 2026 catalogue and service manual list 52.9 lb; all three give 25.5 × 14.3 × 20 in, but the page and catalogue say the figures exclude handles of 1.5 in each while the service manual footnotes them as the largest measurement including latch and handles. Anker's US page metadata reports 50.71 lb and its US guide 55 lb, and neither says whether the removable battery is excluded; 24 V vehicle compatibility is also unverified.

Smaller disagreements still matter when you compare labels. The VL75ProD is advertised at 79.2 quarts on its page and printed at 79.0 quarts and 75.0 L in its v7 manual. Dometic converts 35 L and 75 L to 37 and 79.3 quarts. The GLACIER Classic 45L is 51.2 lb in its manual and 51 lb on its page, and its 45 L nominal capacity becomes 42 L of operational volume in the dual-zone configuration. The catalogue keeps these as recorded observations rather than choosing one; confirm the figure that matters for your installation with the exact unit.

Plan ventilation from the manual, not the body size

Closed body dimensions do not establish how much space a fridge needs to run. Dometic requires at least 50 mm (1.97 in) of ventilation on all sides. EcoFlow requires at least a 50 mm gap on all four sides. The ICECO ProD v7 manual specifies more than 5 cm at the left and right of the compressor cover and 10 cm at its front air outlet. The current CRPRO manual requires at least 7.9 in behind the fridge and 3.9 in at the side; the Rocky manual requires 200 mm behind and 100 mm at the side. Engel's owner's guide asks for at least 6 inches from solid walls and its service manual for at least 150 mm from each wall. None of the ten models publishes a numeric lid-opening envelope, so measure the open lid yourself before planning a fitted space.

Our capacity, zones and power guide covers storage layout, supplied cables and included batteries. Use the fridge comparison to keep up to five exact packages together and read the unresolved fields before you buy.

Common questions

Is the EcoFlow GLACIER Classic 45L a single-zone or dual-zone fridge?

Both, depending on the supplied divider. With the temperature zone divider installed, the 45L model switches to dual-zone operation with separately set left and right zones up to 22°C (39.6°F) apart and 42 L of operational volume; without the divider it runs as one zone. The selected US package includes the divider and excludes the plug-in battery.

Which of these fridges uses the least energy?

The published figures cannot answer that. ICECO states kWh per 24 hours without conditions, EcoFlow states Wh per 24 hours at 77°F in Eco mode, Engel states amp-hours per hour at 12.8 V with no load, and Anker states days of runtime with two batteries. CompareFoundry has not measured any of them, and a watt rating multiplied by 24 is not a daily figure.

Sources & further reading

  • EcoFlow GLACIER Classic 45L Without Plug-in Battery — US product pageChecked 2026-10-21

    Variant 42093688815689: -4°F to 68°F range, 55 W rated power, 95 W AC, 100 W car and 110 W solar maxima, 51 lb net weight and 165 Wh/24 h and 520 Wh/24 h at 77°F in Eco mode, printed identically for all three sizes. The 39-hour runtime uses the separate 298 Wh battery.

  • EcoFlow GLACIER Classic user manual (English, 2025-05-09)Checked 2026-10-21

    Model EF-GC-H-45: 23.2 kg (51.2 lb) net weight, 45 L single-zone and 42 L dual-zone operational volume, up to 22°C between zones with the divider, a 55 W compressor rating, a 50 mm ventilation gap on all four sides and no numeric lid-opening envelope.

  • Engel MT45 Platinum Series fridge-freezer — US product pageChecked 2026-10-21

    SKU MT45F-U1-P: 55 lb weight, 25.5 x 14.3 x 20 in excluding 1.5 in handles, 43 quarts and a variable 0.54–2.35 A power draw at 12 V DC. It links the owner's guide, service manual, performance chart and 2026 catalogue.

  • Engel service manual, MT35F / MT45F Platinum digital display type (2020.12)Checked 2026-10-21

    MT45F-U1D-P: rated amperage 2.6 A at 12 V DC, 1.4 A at 24 V DC and 0.71 A on AC, a 27 W compressor rating, 52.9 lbs / 24 kg, dimensions footnoted as the largest measurement including latch and handles, a -18°C to +10°C setting range and 150 mm from each wall.

  • Engel MT35F / MT45F owner's guideChecked 2026-10-21

    Page 2 asks for at least 6 inches from solid walls; page 6 gives an achievable range of -18 to 10°C displayable in °C or °F and automatic switching to AC. No dimension, weight or lid-opening figure is given.

  • Engel MT45F (typical) performance chart, 12.8 V DC input, no loadChecked 2026-10-21

    At 25°C ambient: 0.54 Ah/Hr and 24% running time with +5°C cabinet air, 1.19 Ah/Hr with -5°C cabinet air. The chart uses thermostat positions and 00.12.21 drawing dates and does not name the Platinum model.

  • Engel 2026 catalog — Platinum series, printed page 44Checked 2026-10-21

    MT45F-U1-P at 52.9 lbs net weight, 25.5 × 14.3 × 20 in excluding 1.5 in handles and a variable 0.7–2.5 A power consumption, differing from the US page's current range and weight.

  • ICECO VL75/90 ProD v7 manual linked from the current US product pageChecked 2026-10-03

    Visible pages 4, 13 and 20: 79.0 quarts / 75.0 L, 69.6 lb net weight, more than 5 cm beside the compressor cover and 10 cm at its front outlet, and 0.636 kWh/24 h without ambient temperature, setpoints, mode or load.

  • ICECO APL20 V5.0 manual linked from the US product pageChecked 2026-09-19

    Visible pages give a -4°F to 68°F range qualified for reaching -20°C, 22.9 lb net weight and a 0.293 kWh per 24 hours table that omits ambient temperature, setpoint, load and mode.

  • BougeRV Rocky V3.0 55QT US fridge-only listingChecked 2026-09-19

    The V3.0 table gives 730 × 450 × 476 mm and 49.6 lb, while the same page's ROCKY50 comparison table gives 28.0 × 17.7 × 18.7 in and the linked manual gives 20.1 kg without batteries.

  • BougeRV Rocky manual linked from the current V3.0 pagesChecked 2026-09-19

    CRRK05001: -4°F to 68°F, MAX 80 W and ECO 64 W by mode, 20.1 kg excluding batteries and 200 mm back and 100 mm side ventilation space. The filename still names the ROCKY2 generation.

  • BougeRV CRPRO30 black fridge-only US product pageChecked 2026-09-19

    Specification table -8°F to 50°F against an approximate -7°F FAQ, 27.55 lb item weight and repeated power tables that disagree: MAX 60 W / ECO 45 W and MAX 45 W / ECO 36 W.

  • Anker SOLIX EverFrost 2 40L US one-battery packageChecked 2026-09-19

    SKU A17A41A1 with one 288 Wh battery. The 4.3-day footnote specifies two batteries, an empty cooler, 39°F internal temperature, 77°F ambient and Eco mode; the 52-hour one-battery claim does not state its conditions. Page metadata gives 50.71 lb while the US guide gives 55 lb.

  • Dometic CFX5 35 US product pageChecked 2026-09-14

    Pairs -7°F with -22°C for the compressor temperature range and advertises 35 L; the light-bulb comparison is not treated as a power rating.

  • Dometic CFX5 operating manual AMER3Checked 2026-10-03

    Pages 30 and 32 give 41.9 lb and 67.3 lb product weights with dimensions including handles; page 5 requires at least 50 mm (1.97 in) of ventilation on all sides. No numeric lid-opening envelope was verified.

See our methodology for source labels and limitations. Product evidence dates are shown beside the corresponding specifications.

Suggest a correction