Buying guide 01 / 12V compressor fridges

Portable 12V fridges: capacity, temperature zones and power

Choose a portable compressor fridge by checking storage layout, lid clearance, power connections and the exact US package. Keep watts separate from daily energy use.

By · Published · Reviewed

On this page

Start with what you need to keep cold, whether you also need a freezer, and where the fridge will sit. Then check the power supply and the contents of the selected US package.

Choose the storage layout before the largest number

A single zone uses one temperature setting. A dual-zone fridge lets you set two areas independently. Baskets, dividers and separate sections do not by themselves establish independent temperature control.

Start with the smallest capacity that holds your usual load. A compact fridge can leave more cargo space and be easier to lift, while a larger dual-zone model adds room and separate temperatures. Check empty weight before adding food, a battery or a slide; nominal capacity alone does not describe the load you will carry.

The ICECO APL20 adds a smaller 21 qt option with a documented 22.9 lb net weight. Its 16 L main area and 4 L passive compartment share one temperature control. Two compartments do not make it a dual-zone fridge.

The ICECO VL45ProS is a single-zone model; the VL75ProD has separate left and right temperature controls. The larger unit solves a different storage problem when you need chilled and frozen items together.

Compare liters with liters or US quarts with US quarts, and read the source note where we convert units. Advertised capacity is not a measurement of usable packing space. For example, the Rocky manual linked by BougeRV gives 52 L without the partition for its 55QT model, with separate compartment volumes when the partition is installed.

Measure the body, lid travel and ventilation separately

Mark out the fridge footprint, then leave room to open it, reach the cables and ventilate the compressor. Check whether the stated dimensions include handles. A slide adds height and needs space to extend; a reversible lid changes the direction of access.

The manufacturer manuals provide these starting measurements. The axis labels differ, so compare the drawing with the intended orientation rather than treating every first number as the same direction:

  • Dometic CFX5 35: 41.9 lb; W × D × H of 15.67 × 27.32 × 16.02 in, including handles.
  • Dometic CFX5 75DZ: 67.3 lb; W × D × H of 35.12 × 19.49 × 18.58 in, including handles.
  • ICECO VL45ProS: 52.2 lb net; L × W × H of 28.1 × 15.9 × 18.1 in. Handle inclusion is not stated.
  • ICECO VL75ProD: 69.6 lb net; L × W × H of 36.5 × 18.5 × 18.1 in. Handle inclusion is not stated.

These are manufacturer body measurements and empty weights, not shipping weights or installed clearances. The Dometic Americas manual gives the dimensions and weights on pages 30 and 32, and separately requires at least 50 mm (1.97 in) of ventilation on all sides on page 5.

The ICECO ProS v7 manual and ProD v7 manual describe opening the lid from either side or removing it. The ProS review did not verify numeric ventilation spacing. The ProD v7 manual specifies on page 13 more than 5 cm at the left and right of the compressor cover and 10 cm at its front air outlet. These are ventilation allowances, not a lid-opening envelope; the older manual's three-inch recommendation is separate evidence.

BougeRV's current linked CRPRO manual specifies at least 7.9 in behind the fridge and 3.9 in at the side for ventilation. Its linked Rocky manual specifies 200 mm behind and 100 mm at the side. Check the manual supplied with the exact unit: the current Rocky V3.0 page still has conflicting body dimensions and weight. We have not resolved those by selecting the smaller number.

No numeric lid-opening envelope was verified for the models reviewed here. Obtain an exact drawing or measure the intended configuration before buying a fitted slide or planning a tight installation. Ventilation space and closed dimensions do not establish how far a lid can open.

Check the power connection and supplied accessories

Match the fridge's DC voltage, connection and required current to the vehicle outlet or battery output. Check the source's outlet limits and the selected cable. For household use, verify the US AC cable and any required adapter are supplied. ICECO documents AC and DC cables with the VL Pro fridges; BougeRV lists an external AC adapter with its Rocky base package.

A battery compartment does not mean a battery is included. The Rocky V3.0 55QT has separate fridge-only and battery packages. If a package includes a removable battery, check its documented capacity and whether the quoted weight includes it; do not compare that total with a battery-free fridge weight. Confirm the selected variant before adding a battery, solar panel, cover or slide.

The reviewed Anker SOLIX EverFrost 2 40L US package includes one removable 288 Wh LFP battery. A second battery and solar panel are separate. Anker's detailed 4.3-day runtime claim tests two batteries, so it does not describe this one-battery package. The sources also leave battery-excluded weight unresolved. Its vehicle connection is documented for 12 V; we have not verified 24 V vehicle compatibility.

Use energy evidence to plan battery capacity

Watts describe power at a moment or under a stated rating. Watt-hours and kilowatt-hours describe energy over time. A compressor cycles, so multiplying a maximum watt rating by 24 does not establish normal daily consumption.

Look for a test with the ambient temperature, fridge and freezer settings, loading and operating mode stated. ICECO's current VL75ProD v7 manual lists 0.636 kWh over 24 hours on page 20, but does not state those conditions. Its laboratory figure does not establish typical use in a hot vehicle or a fair efficiency ranking against another fridge. The older product-page answer at 0°F in MAX mode is not the test description for this manual figure.

Allow for the power source's usable energy, conversion losses and reserve. Our power station guide explains output and capacity checks. CompareFoundry has not measured these fridges' energy consumption and does not promise a runtime for a particular battery pairing.

Use the fridge comparison to keep up to five exact packages together. Read unresolved specifications before choosing accessories or planning a fixed space.

Common questions

Can a single-zone fridge chill and freeze separately?

A single zone has one temperature setting. For independent fridge and freezer settings, look for two documented temperature controls. The ICECO VL75ProD manual describes separate controls and the ability to switch off either zone.

ICECO VL ProD manual

Does a 12V fridge include its own battery?

Check the exact package. The reviewed Anker EverFrost 2 40L US package includes one 288 Wh battery; the ICECO APL20 Silver base package does not include its optional magnetic battery. A DC input or battery compartment alone does not establish an included battery, and two-battery runtime claims do not describe a one-battery purchase.

Anker EverFrost 2 40L one-battery package · ICECO APL20 Silver base package

Sources & further reading

See our methodology for source labels and limitations. Product evidence dates are shown beside the corresponding specifications.

Suggest a correction