A considered comparison

inReach Messenger Plus vs inReach Mini 3 vs SPOT X: messaging on the device itself

Compare three two-way satellite messengers that can send and read typed messages without a phone, by satellite network, battery at a 10-minute interval, weight, input method and plan terms.

The decision in brief

How the options differ

All three exact US packages need an active plan and have a screen for messaging on the device. The two Garmin units use Iridium and Garmin Response, while the SPOT X uses Globalstar with regional two-way coverage and FocusPoint International monitoring. They also differ in input method, stated battery life, weight and charging connector.

Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus product page (010-02887-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Mini 3 product page (010-03387-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Consumer Plans (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus Owner's Manual (April 2025)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.Garmin: inReach Mini 3/3 Plus Owner's ManualChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.SPOT: SPOT X with Bluetooth User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.

By · Published · Editorial review · Manufacturer documentation, not hands-on testing.

The buying guide

Package and specification details

Check coverage for your route

Garmin describes global Iridium coverage for both inReach models. SPOT's own Globalstar map separates SOS and two-way message coverage and lists the regions covered, so two-way messaging on the SPOT X depends on where you travel.

Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus product page (010-02887-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Mini 3 product page (010-03387-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Consumer Plans (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.

Compare battery at the same 10-minute interval

At a 10-minute send interval Garmin states up to 600 hours for the Messenger Plus in low power messaging mode (110 hours in performance mode) and up to 350 hours for the Mini 3, and SPOT states 240 hours for the SPOT X in 10-minute tracking mode. All three are manufacturer estimates with a clear view of the sky.

Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus Owner's Manual (April 2025)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.Garmin: inReach Mini 3/3 Plus Owner's ManualChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.

Weigh the input method and the package

The Mini 3 has a 1.9 in color touchscreen keyboard and weighs 122.2 g; the Messenger Plus has a monochrome display with a virtual keyboard at 117.2 g and adds photo and voice messages through the app; the SPOT X has a QWERTY keyboard at 198.4 g. Both Garmin units charge over USB-C, and the SPOT X ships with a Micro USB cable.

Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Mini 3 product page (010-03387-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus product page (010-02887-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SPOT: SPOT X with Bluetooth User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.

Compare plan terms

Garmin's consumer plans are billed monthly, auto-renew monthly and can be suspended for up to 12 months. SPOT offers 12-month contract plans or Flex plans with a one-month minimum and an annual Flex charge. Both charge an activation fee and include SOS on every plan.

Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Consumer Plans (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.

Common questions

Does any of these three give the device its own phone number?

SPOT states the SPOT X has its own dedicated U.S. mobile number. The Garmin pages and manuals read for the inReach Messenger Plus and inReach Mini 3 do not state one.

Sources · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus product page (010-02887-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Mini 3 product page (010-03387-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.

Evidence limits

These manufacturer specifications do not establish measured performance, noise, long-term reliability or running cost. We have not independently tested these products. Check current prices, stock and operating-space instructions with the seller and manufacturer.

Product specifications and sources

These notes apply to the starting packages. Changing a selection opens your own comparison and hides the notes that no longer apply.

Report a correction

Compare the starting packages

Scroll sideways to see every option. Open a field explanation or source for its conditions.

Documented specifications and exact purchase packages
Compare the detailsinReach Messenger Plus 010-02887-00 (US)inReach Mini 3 010-03387-00 (US)SPOT X with Bluetooth (US)
Community reviews

No community reviews yet.
Purchase packages of the same model share one community score.

Read all reviews Write a review

No community reviews yet.
Purchase packages of the same model share one community score.

Read all reviews Write a review

No community reviews yet.
Purchase packages of the same model share one community score.

Read all reviews Write a review
US purchase package010-02887-00; inReach Messenger Plus with photo and voice messaging; device only, no service plan

Product & sources

The inReach Messenger (010-02672-00) without photo and voice messaging is a separate product offered on the same page.

A satellite plan and its activation fee are separate purchases. Price and stock are not recorded.

Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus product page (010-02887-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Consumer Plans (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
010-03387-00; inReach Mini 3 without photo and voice messaging; device only, no service plan

Product & sources

The inReach Mini 3 Plus (010-03387-10) with photo and voice messaging is a different package. The older inReach Mini 2 (010-02602-00 and 010-02602-01) remains listed separately.

A satellite plan and its activation fee are separate purchases. Price and stock are not recorded.

Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Mini 3 product page (010-03387-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Consumer Plans (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Mini 2 product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
SPOT X with Bluetooth wireless technology; retailer-listed MPN SPOT-HD-X-B, Black/Orange; device only, no service plan

Product & sources

SPOT Gen4 and SPOT Trace are different devices. RAM mounts are optional accessories.

A service plan and its activation fee are separate purchases. Price and stock are not recorded.

Sources · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Sportsman's Warehouse: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger with Bluetooth listingChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.SPOT: SPOT X with Bluetooth User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Where to buy

Select: 010-02887-00; inReach Messenger Plus with photo and voice messaging; device only, no service plan

View at Garmin — inReach Messenger Plus 010-02887-00 (US); opens in a new tab

The link may open several packages. Check current price and availability with the seller. Opens in a new tab.

Select: 010-03387-00; inReach Mini 3 without photo and voice messaging; device only, no service plan

View at Garmin — inReach Mini 3 010-03387-00 (US); opens in a new tab

The link may open several packages. Check current price and availability with the seller. Opens in a new tab.

Select: SPOT X with Bluetooth wireless technology; retailer-listed MPN SPOT-HD-X-B, Black/Orange; device only, no service plan

View at SPOT — SPOT X with Bluetooth (US); opens in a new tab

The link may open several packages. Check current price and availability with the seller. Opens in a new tab.

Iridium satellite network, which Garmin describes as 100% global. Paired with the Garmin Messenger app, messages use the phone's Wi-Fi or cellular connection and switch to satellite beyond them.Coverage is a manufacturer claim. Garmin states that some jurisdictions regulate or prohibit satellite communication devices, and battery and messaging estimates assume a clear view of the sky.
Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus product page (010-02887-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Consumer Plans (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Iridium satellite network with global coverage, per Garmin. Paired with the Garmin Messenger app, messages use the phone's Wi-Fi or cellular connection and switch to satellite beyond them.Coverage is a manufacturer claim. Garmin states that GPS tracking and satellite communication do not work underwater and that some jurisdictions regulate or prohibit satellite communication devices.
Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Mini 3 product page (010-03387-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Consumer Plans (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Globalstar satellite network. SPOT's map separates SOS and two-way message coverage, with fringe areas; the stated area includes virtually all of the continental US, Canada, Mexico, Europe and Australia, portions of other regions and offshore waters.SPOT states the map is an estimated coverage area, actual coverage may vary, and success rates are forecasts for delivering a single message within 20 minutes. This is not a global coverage claim.
Source · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Interactive SOS from a capped button on the device, or from the Garmin Messenger app, to Garmin Response, which Garmin describes as its 24/7-staffed international coordination center; two-way messaging continues during the incident.Garmin states SOS messaging is included in all consumer plans and needs an active satellite subscription. The manual states the device sends an updated location every minute for the first 10 minutes of an SOS, then every 10 minutes. Garmin Response notifies emergency responders; this is not a guarantee of rescue or of a response time.
Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus product page (010-02887-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus Owner's Manual (April 2025)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.Garmin: inReach Consumer Plans (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Interactive SOS from a capped button on the device, or from the Garmin Messenger app, to Garmin Response, which Garmin describes as its 24/7-staffed international coordination center; two-way messaging continues during the incident.SOS needs an active satellite subscription and is included in all consumer plans. The manual states location updates every minute for the first 10 minutes, then every 10 minutes. The page also describes syncing a Divers Alert Network ID, which requires DAN membership. This is not a guarantee of rescue or of a response time.
Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Mini 3 product page (010-03387-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Mini 3/3 Plus Owner's ManualChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.Garmin: inReach Consumer Plans (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Covered SOS button on the device. SPOT's US support page names FocusPoint International, Inc. as the SOS/911 monitoring provider, and the SPOT X supports two-way messaging with the emergency response center during an SOS.The support page states GPS coordinates are sent every 2.5 minutes and every 5 minutes once acknowledged; the user guide states every 5 minutes until cancelled. SOS is unlimited on every plan. SPOT offers an optional Overwatch x Rescue plan for rescue-related expenses. This is not a guarantee of rescue or of a response time.
Sources · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X support: What happens if I press the SOS button?Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SPOT: SPOT X with Bluetooth User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Active inReach consumer plan required: Enabled, Essential, Standard or Premium, billed monthly and auto-renewing monthly, with a one-time activation fee. Tiers differ in included satellite texts, check-ins, photo and voice messages and tracking. Activate in the Garmin Messenger or Earthmate app.The Enabled plan charges per satellite message, and lower tiers charge for messages beyond their allowance. Photo and voice allowances apply to inReach Plus-enabled devices such as this one. Prices are not recorded; check the plans page before activating.
Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Consumer Plans (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus Owner's Manual (April 2025)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Active inReach consumer plan required: Enabled, Essential, Standard or Premium, billed monthly and auto-renewing monthly, with a one-time activation fee. Tiers differ in included satellite texts, check-ins and tracking; photo and voice allowances apply only to Plus-enabled devices, not this model.Activation runs through the Garmin Messenger app, and the manual requires a valid, unique phone number that can receive a text message; VOIP numbers are not supported. Prices are not recorded; check the plans page before activating.
Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Consumer Plans (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Mini 3/3 Plus Owner's ManualChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Active SPOT subscription required, bought at activation: annual contract plans (Basic, Advanced, Unlimited; 12-month term, paid monthly or upfront) or Flex plans (one-month minimum, with an annual Flex charge). An activation fee applies, and subscriptions auto-renew at the end of the term.Plans differ in custom message allowances, tracking intervals and movement alerts; SOS, check-in and predefined messages are unlimited on all. Ending an annual contract early carries a fee equal to the outstanding balance. A free-activation promotion shown on the check date is not recorded. Prices are not recorded.
Source · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
YesGarmin: "Active satellite subscription required." The manual states messaging, SOS, tracking and inReach Weather all require an active satellite subscription.
Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus product page (010-02887-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus Owner's Manual (April 2025)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
YesGarmin: "Active plan required." The manual states messaging, SOS, tracking and inReach Weather require an active satellite subscription.
Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Mini 3 product page (010-03387-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Mini 3/3 Plus Owner's ManualChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
YesSPOT: the device "requires an active service subscription to properly perform 2-way satellite messaging, tracking, SOS capabilities and all other device functions." The quick start guide: "S.O.S. will not work without activation."
Sources · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SPOT: SPOT X with Bluetooth Quick Start GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
YesGarmin states service can be suspended for up to 12 consecutive months and that emergency SOS remains available during suspension only on select devices, which the plans page does not list. Whether this device keeps SOS while suspended is not established here.
Source · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Consumer Plans (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
YesGarmin states service can be suspended for up to 12 consecutive months and that emergency SOS remains available during suspension only on select devices, which the plans page does not list. Whether this device keeps SOS while suspended is not established here.
Source · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Consumer Plans (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
YesFlex plans let the customer suspend service at any time during the year without a repeat activation fee, subject to the annual Flex charge; the page does not state whether SOS works while suspended. Annual contract plans run for 12 months.
Source · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Monochrome display with buttons and a virtual keyboard for messages on the device. The Garmin Messenger app adds group messaging, contact sync, satellite photos and 30-second voice messages. Messages go to SMS numbers, email addresses and other inReach devices.
Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus product page (010-02887-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus Owner's Manual (April 2025)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
1.9 in color touchscreen with an on-screen keyboard for text messages on the device, or the Garmin Messenger app for group chats, emojis and reactions. Messages go to SMS numbers, email addresses and other inReach devices. No photo or voice messaging on this model.Garmin's option selector lists this part number as the version without photo and voice messaging; those features belong to the inReach Mini 3 Plus (010-03387-10).
Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Mini 3 product page (010-03387-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Mini 3/3 Plus Owner's ManualChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.Garmin: inReach Consumer Plans (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Display screen and built-in QWERTY keyboard for messages on the device, or the SPOT X app over Bluetooth (range up to 30 ft) to use phone contacts. Messages go to any cell phone number or email address.
Sources · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SPOT: SPOT X with Bluetooth User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
YesGarmin states the screen can be used to send messages and read responses even when the phone battery dies. Photo and voice messages require the paired app.
Source · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus product page (010-02887-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
YesGarmin states text messages can be exchanged directly on the device with the touchscreen keyboard.
Source · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Mini 3 product page (010-03387-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
YesSPOT states the SPOT X can be used as a standalone communication device.
Sources · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SPOT: SPOT X with Bluetooth User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
1600 charactersGarmin's specification list: send and receive 1,600 character messages.
Source · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus product page (010-02887-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Not verified

We have not verified this value. It is not a confirmed no or zero. Check the original source or ask the manufacturer if it affects your choice.

Garmin's Mini 3 specification list and the manual pages read here do not state a message length.
Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Mini 3 product page (010-03387-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Mini 3/3 Plus Owner's ManualChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
140 charactersThe user guide states messages of up to 140 characters.
Source · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X with Bluetooth User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Not verified

We have not verified this value. It is not a confirmed no or zero. Check the original source or ask the manufacturer if it affects your choice.

The Garmin pages and manual read here do not state that the device is assigned its own phone number.
Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus product page (010-02887-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus Owner's Manual (April 2025)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.Garmin: inReach Consumer Plans (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Not verified

We have not verified this value. It is not a confirmed no or zero. Check the original source or ask the manufacturer if it affects your choice.

The Garmin pages and manual read here do not state that the device is assigned its own phone number.
Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Mini 3 product page (010-03387-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Mini 3/3 Plus Owner's ManualChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.Garmin: inReach Consumer Plans (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
YesSPOT states the SPOT X has its own dedicated U.S. mobile number so others can message it directly.
Sources · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SPOT: SPOT X with Bluetooth User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Satellite live tracking at a 10-minute or longer interval on the Enabled, Essential and Standard plans and a 2-minute or longer interval on Premium; Enabled and Essential charge per tracking point. LiveTrack sharing works through the Garmin Messenger app.The manual states that the send interval affects battery life.
Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Consumer Plans (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus product page (010-02887-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Satellite live tracking at a 10-minute or longer interval on the Enabled, Essential and Standard plans and a 2-minute or longer interval on Premium; Enabled and Essential charge per tracking point. LiveTrack sharing works through the Garmin Messenger app.The manual states that the send interval and high detail activity recording affect battery life.
Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Consumer Plans (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Mini 3 product page (010-03387-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
2.5, 5, 10 (default), 30 or 60 minutes, limited by plan: Basic 10, 30 or 60 minutes with tracking reset after 24 hours; Advanced from 5 minutes; Unlimited from 2.5 minutes.
Sources · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SPOT: SPOT X with Bluetooth User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
600 hUp to 600 hours with a text message or location sent every 10 minutes in low power messaging mode; up to 110 hours in performance messaging mode. Garmin's overview states up to 25 days in 10-minute tracking mode. Estimates assume a full sky view.
Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus product page (010-02887-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus Owner's Manual (April 2025)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
350 hUp to 350 hours with a 10-minute tracking send interval; up to 170 hours when high detail activity recording in GPS mode is added.
Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Mini 3 product page (010-03387-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Mini 3/3 Plus Owner's ManualChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
240 h240 hours (10 days) in 10-minute tracking mode, based on a full charge during initial device usage at 77 °F with a clear, unobstructed view of the sky.
Source · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Low power messaging mode: up to 120 h with a message or location every 2 min and up to 600 h every 10 min. Performance messaging mode: up to 70 h every 2 min and up to 110 h every 10 min. Up to 250 media messages per charge; up to 1 year turned off.Garmin states battery life estimates are with full sky view and can be significantly reduced by obstructions or tree cover.
Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus product page (010-02887-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus Owner's Manual (April 2025)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
10-minute tracking send interval: up to 350 h; with high detail activity recording up to 170 h (GPS mode) or 120 h (all satellite systems mode). 2-minute interval: up to 105 h. Up to 1 year turned off.Garmin states actual battery life depends on device settings and on a clear view of the sky. The Mini 3 Plus has a separate table by messaging mode.
Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Mini 3/3 Plus Owner's ManualChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.Garmin: inReach Mini 3 product page (010-03387-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
240 hours (10 days) in 10-minute tracking mode, based on a full charge during initial device usage at 77 °F with a clear, unobstructed sky view. No figures for other intervals are published on the page.
Source · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Rechargeable built-in lithium-ion battery, capacity not stated; USB-C. Reverse charging can charge a phone from the device. Charging range 0 to 60 °C.
Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus product page (010-02887-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus Owner's Manual (April 2025)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Built-in rechargeable lithium-ion battery, 1800 mAh; USB-C. Full-speed charging from 0 to 45 °C, slow charging from -20 to 0 °C and reduced-capacity charging from 45 to 60 °C.
Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Mini 3/3 Plus Owner's ManualChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.Garmin: inReach Mini 3 product page (010-03387-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Rechargeable lithium polymer battery that is not designed to be replaced; Micro USB data/power cable, with charging time of about 6 hours per the user guide.
Sources · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X with Bluetooth User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
117.2 g4.1 oz (117.2 g); 7.8 x 6.4 x 2.3 cm.
Source · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus product page (010-02887-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
122.2 g4.31 oz (122.2 g); 5.50 x 9.80 x 2.67 cm.
Source · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Mini 3 product page (010-03387-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
198.4 g7.0 oz (198.4 g), stated "with Lithium Batteries"; 16.61 x 7.37 x 2.39 cm.
Sources · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SPOT: SPOT X with Bluetooth User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
IPX7 (IEC 60529); the manual states it withstands incidental exposure to water up to 1 m for up to 30 minutes.
Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus product page (010-02887-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus Owner's Manual (April 2025)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
IP67 (IEC 60529): protected against dust and incidental exposure to water up to 1 m for up to 30 minutes. Garmin also lists MIL-STD-810 (thermal, shock, water) for the bare unit only.
Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Mini 3 product page (010-03387-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Mini 3/3 Plus Owner's ManualChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
IP67: submersible up to 1 m for 30 minutes; the user guide adds MIL-STD-810G for shock.
Sources · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SPOT: SPOT X with Bluetooth User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
-10 to 60 °C (14 to 140 °F).
Source · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus Owner's Manual (April 2025)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
-20 to 60 °C (-4 to 140 °F).
Source · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Mini 3/3 Plus Owner's ManualChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
-20 to 60 °C (-4 to 140 °F); operating altitude -100 m to 6,500 m.
Sources · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SPOT: SPOT X with Bluetooth User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
inReach Messenger Plus, USB-C cable and documentation, per Garmin's In the Box list.
Source · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus product page (010-02887-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
inReach Mini 3 satellite communicator, charging/data cable and documentation, per Garmin's In the Box list.
Source · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Mini 3 product page (010-03387-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
SPOT X device, strap and carabiner, Micro USB data/power cable (18 in per the user guide), quick start guide, a sticker listed as the SOS Mirrored Sticker (SPOT does not describe its use), warranty card and kickstand.
Sources · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SPOT: SPOT X with Bluetooth User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Questions to check before buying

The 600-hour figure applies to low power messaging mode only; performance messaging mode is stated at 110 hours for the same 10-minute interval. Both are manufacturer estimates with a full sky view.

Garmin does not list which devices keep SOS during a suspended plan, and the pages read here do not state a dedicated phone number for the device.

The inReach Mini 3 Plus (010-03387-10) adds photo and voice messaging and has a different battery table; it is a separate package. Garmin's US site also still lists the older inReach Mini 2.

Message length, a dedicated phone number and SOS availability during a suspended plan are not established for this model from the sources read.

Two-way message coverage is regional on SPOT's own Globalstar map; check the map for your route before relying on messaging.

SPOT's US pages do not publish a part number; the MPN SPOT-HD-X-B comes from a retailer listing. The SOS location interval differs between the support page and the user guide.

Change these selections