A Globalstar two-way messenger with its own screen and QWERTY keyboard, a dedicated US mobile number, Bluetooth pairing with the SPOT X app and a choice of annual contract or Flex service plans.
Globalstar satellite network. SPOT's map separates SOS and two-way message coverage, with fringe areas; the stated area includes virtually all of the continental US, Canada, Mexico, Europe and Australia, portions of other regions and offshore waters.
Coverage is a manufacturer claim, not a tested result. Terrain, tree cover and buildings block satellites, and some countries restrict satellite communicators.
SPOT states the map is an estimated coverage area, actual coverage may vary, and success rates are forecasts for delivering a single message within 20 minutes. This is not a global coverage claim.
Covered SOS button on the device. SPOT's US support page names FocusPoint International, Inc. as the SOS/911 monitoring provider, and the SPOT X supports two-way messaging with the emergency response center during an SOS.
The named service contacts responders on your behalf. It does not guarantee rescue or a response time, and rescue costs can be the user's responsibility.
The support page states GPS coordinates are sent every 2.5 minutes and every 5 minutes once acknowledged; the user guide states every 5 minutes until cancelled. SOS is unlimited on every plan. SPOT offers an optional Overwatch x Rescue plan for rescue-related expenses. This is not a guarantee of rescue or of a response time.
Active SPOT subscription required, bought at activation: annual contract plans (Basic, Advanced, Unlimited; 12-month term, paid monthly or upfront) or Flex plans (one-month minimum, with an annual Flex charge). An activation fee applies, and subscriptions auto-renew at the end of the term.
Plan terms change. Check the minimum term, auto-renewal, cancellation terms and what each tier includes on the plans page before activating.
Plans differ in custom message allowances, tracking intervals and movement alerts; SOS, check-in and predefined messages are unlimited on all. Ending an annual contract early carries a fee equal to the outstanding balance. A free-activation promotion shown on the check date is not recorded. Prices are not recorded.
SPOT Gen4 and SPOT Trace are different devices. RAM mounts are optional accessories. A service plan and its activation fee are separate purchases. Price and stock are not recorded.
Handheld two-way satellite communicators sold new in the US that require a manufacturer service plan. Satellite phones, personal locator beacons, one-way trackers, smartphones and phone-only satellite features, and measured coverage, battery or rescue-outcome rankings are outside this catalogue.
Open a field explanation or source for its conditions.
Documented specifications and exact purchase packages
Compare the details
SPOT X with Bluetooth (US)
US purchase package
SPOT X with Bluetooth (US)SPOT X with Bluetooth wireless technology; retailer-listed MPN SPOT-HD-X-B, Black/Orange; device only, no service plan
The satellite network the device uses and the coverage the manufacturer claims for it, including any cellular or Wi-Fi fallback through a paired phone.
Coverage is a manufacturer claim, not a tested result. Terrain, tree cover and buildings block satellites, and some countries restrict satellite communicators.
SPOT X with Bluetooth (US)Globalstar satellite network. SPOT's map separates SOS and two-way message coverage, with fringe areas; the stated area includes virtually all of the continental US, Canada, Mexico, Europe and Australia, portions of other regions and offshore waters.SPOT states the map is an estimated coverage area, actual coverage may vary, and success rates are forecasts for delivering a single message within 20 minutes. This is not a global coverage claim.Source · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
SOS coordination service
How an SOS is triggered and the emergency response coordination service the manufacturer names to receive it.
The named service contacts responders on your behalf. It does not guarantee rescue or a response time, and rescue costs can be the user's responsibility.
SPOT X with Bluetooth (US)Covered SOS button on the device. SPOT's US support page names FocusPoint International, Inc. as the SOS/911 monitoring provider, and the SPOT X supports two-way messaging with the emergency response center during an SOS.The support page states GPS coordinates are sent every 2.5 minutes and every 5 minutes once acknowledged; the user guide states every 5 minutes until cancelled. SOS is unlimited on every plan. SPOT offers an optional Overwatch x Rescue plan for rescue-related expenses. This is not a guarantee of rescue or of a response time.Sources · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X support: What happens if I press the SOS button?Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SPOT: SPOT X with Bluetooth User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Plan structure
The named service plans, billing period, minimum term, activation requirement and add-ons the manufacturer documents. Prices are not recorded.
Plan terms change. Check the minimum term, auto-renewal, cancellation terms and what each tier includes on the plans page before activating.
SPOT X with Bluetooth (US)Active SPOT subscription required, bought at activation: annual contract plans (Basic, Advanced, Unlimited; 12-month term, paid monthly or upfront) or Flex plans (one-month minimum, with an annual Flex charge). An activation fee applies, and subscriptions auto-renew at the end of the term.Plans differ in custom message allowances, tracking intervals and movement alerts; SOS, check-in and predefined messages are unlimited on all. Ending an annual contract early carries a fee equal to the outstanding balance. A free-activation promotion shown on the check date is not recorded. Prices are not recorded.Source · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Active plan required for messaging and SOS
Whether the manufacturer states that messaging and SOS need an active service subscription.
A device bought without a plan cannot message or send an SOS over satellite. The plan is a separate purchase with its own activation.
SPOT X with Bluetooth (US)YesSPOT: the device "requires an active service subscription to properly perform 2-way satellite messaging, tracking, SOS capabilities and all other device functions." The quick start guide: "S.O.S. will not work without activation."Sources · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SPOT: SPOT X with Bluetooth Quick Start GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Service can be paused or suspended
Whether the manufacturer documents pausing or suspending service without cancelling the account.
Read the note: some pauses carry a charge or a time limit, and SOS may be unavailable while service is paused.
SPOT X with Bluetooth (US)YesFlex plans let the customer suspend service at any time during the year without a repeat activation fee, subject to the annual Flex charge; the page does not state whether SOS works while suspended. Annual contract plans run for 12 months.Source · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
How messages are written and read
Whether messages are composed on the device's own screen and keyboard or in a paired phone app, and which message types are documented.
Photo and voice messages, group chats and contact sync often depend on the phone app. Check which features need the phone to be working.
SPOT X with Bluetooth (US)Display screen and built-in QWERTY keyboard for messages on the device, or the SPOT X app over Bluetooth (range up to 30 ft) to use phone contacts. Messages go to any cell phone number or email address.Sources · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SPOT: SPOT X with Bluetooth User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Custom messages without a phone
Whether the device itself can compose and read custom text messages when no phone is paired.
Screenless devices can still send a preset check-in or an SOS from their buttons; this field covers typed messages only.
SPOT X with Bluetooth (US)YesSPOT states the SPOT X can be used as a standalone communication device.Sources · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SPOT: SPOT X with Bluetooth User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Stated message length
The maximum length of a satellite text message published by the manufacturer.
Lengths can differ between satellite, app-to-app and SMS routes. Not stated is not the same as short.
SPOT X with Bluetooth (US)140 charactersThe user guide states messages of up to 140 characters.Source · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X with Bluetooth User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Dedicated number for the device
Whether the plan assigns the device its own phone number or SMS number so others can message it first.
A dedicated number is usually lost when the plan is cancelled. Unknown means the sources read do not state one.
SPOT X with Bluetooth (US)YesSPOT states the SPOT X has its own dedicated U.S. mobile number so others can message it directly.Sources · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SPOT: SPOT X with Bluetooth User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Tracking intervals
The location-tracking send intervals the manufacturer lists and any plan or add-on that limits them.
Shorter intervals use more battery and, on some plans, more credits or messages. Some tracking needs an add-on subscription.
SPOT X with Bluetooth (US)2.5, 5, 10 (default), 30 or 60 minutes, limited by plan: Basic 10, 30 or 60 minutes with tracking reset after 24 hours; Advanced from 5 minutes; Unlimited from 2.5 minutes.Sources · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SPOT: SPOT X with Bluetooth User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Battery life at a 10-minute interval
The manufacturer's battery-life estimate when a location or message is sent every 10 minutes, with the mode and conditions in the note.
Only figures stated for a 10-minute interval are recorded here. They assume a clear sky view and are estimates, not measurements.
SPOT X with Bluetooth (US)240 h240 hours (10 days) in 10-minute tracking mode, based on a full charge during initial device usage at 77 °F with a clear, unobstructed view of the sky.Source · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Battery claims and their conditions
Every battery-life figure the manufacturer publishes, each with the interval, mode or condition it states.
A figure without a stated interval cannot be compared with one measured at a stated interval. Cold, obstructions and frequent messages shorten battery life.
SPOT X with Bluetooth (US)240 hours (10 days) in 10-minute tracking mode, based on a full charge during initial device usage at 77 °F with a clear, unobstructed sky view. No figures for other intervals are published on the page.Source · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Battery and charging
The documented battery type and capacity, charging connector and any charging limits.
Internal batteries are not user-replaceable. Bring the right cable and a power source for longer trips.
SPOT X with Bluetooth (US)Rechargeable lithium polymer battery that is not designed to be replaced; Micro USB data/power cable, with charging time of about 6 hours per the user guide.Sources · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X with Bluetooth User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Device weight
The published weight of the device itself.
Where two official sources publish different weights the value is left unresolved and both are shown.
SPOT X with Bluetooth (US)198.4 g7.0 oz (198.4 g), stated "with Lithium Batteries"; 16.61 x 7.37 x 2.39 cm.Sources · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SPOT: SPOT X with Bluetooth User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Water and dust rating
The IP rating and any ruggedness standard the manufacturer states, with its stated depth and duration.
Ratings are manufacturer statements about test conditions. Satellite signals do not reach a device underwater.
SPOT X with Bluetooth (US)IP67: submersible up to 1 m for 30 minutes; the user guide adds MIL-STD-810G for shock.Sources · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SPOT: SPOT X with Bluetooth User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Operating temperature
The operating temperature range the manufacturer publishes.
Cold reduces battery life, and charging ranges are often narrower than operating ranges.
SPOT X with Bluetooth (US)-20 to 60 °C (-4 to 140 °F); operating altitude -100 m to 6,500 m.Sources · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SPOT: SPOT X with Bluetooth User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
In the box
Items the manufacturer or seller lists in the exact US package.
No package here includes a service plan. Mounts, cases and chargers are included only when listed.
SPOT X with Bluetooth (US)SPOT X device, strap and carabiner, Micro USB data/power cable (18 in per the user guide), quick start guide, a sticker listed as the SOS Mirrored Sticker (SPOT does not describe its use), warranty card and kickstand.Sources · 2026-10-21SPOT: SPOT X 2-Way Satellite Messenger (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SPOT: SPOT X with Bluetooth User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Questions to check before buying
SPOT X with Bluetooth (US)
Two-way message coverage is regional on SPOT's own Globalstar map; check the map for your route before relying on messaging.
SPOT's US pages do not publish a part number; the MPN SPOT-HD-X-B comes from a retailer listing. The SOS location interval differs between the support page and the user guide.
Allow Google Analytics to measure page visits, engagement and clicks to sellers? It uses analytics cookies. Your choice won’t affect the comparison tools. Read our privacy policy.