A compact Iridium two-way messenger with a monochrome display, satellite photo and voice messages through the Garmin Messenger app, and interactive SOS to Garmin Response.
Iridium satellite network, which Garmin describes as 100% global. Paired with the Garmin Messenger app, messages use the phone's Wi-Fi or cellular connection and switch to satellite beyond them.
Coverage is a manufacturer claim, not a tested result. Terrain, tree cover and buildings block satellites, and some countries restrict satellite communicators.
Coverage is a manufacturer claim. Garmin states that some jurisdictions regulate or prohibit satellite communication devices, and battery and messaging estimates assume a clear view of the sky.
Interactive SOS from a capped button on the device, or from the Garmin Messenger app, to Garmin Response, which Garmin describes as its 24/7-staffed international coordination center; two-way messaging continues during the incident.
The named service contacts responders on your behalf. It does not guarantee rescue or a response time, and rescue costs can be the user's responsibility.
Garmin states SOS messaging is included in all consumer plans and needs an active satellite subscription. The manual states the device sends an updated location every minute for the first 10 minutes of an SOS, then every 10 minutes. Garmin Response notifies emergency responders; this is not a guarantee of rescue or of a response time.
Active inReach consumer plan required: Enabled, Essential, Standard or Premium, billed monthly and auto-renewing monthly, with a one-time activation fee. Tiers differ in included satellite texts, check-ins, photo and voice messages and tracking. Activate in the Garmin Messenger or Earthmate app.
Plan terms change. Check the minimum term, auto-renewal, cancellation terms and what each tier includes on the plans page before activating.
The Enabled plan charges per satellite message, and lower tiers charge for messages beyond their allowance. Photo and voice allowances apply to inReach Plus-enabled devices such as this one. Prices are not recorded; check the plans page before activating.
The inReach Messenger (010-02672-00) without photo and voice messaging is a separate product offered on the same page. A satellite plan and its activation fee are separate purchases. Price and stock are not recorded.
Handheld two-way satellite communicators sold new in the US that require a manufacturer service plan. Satellite phones, personal locator beacons, one-way trackers, smartphones and phone-only satellite features, and measured coverage, battery or rescue-outcome rankings are outside this catalogue.
Open a field explanation or source for its conditions.
Documented specifications and exact purchase packages
Compare the details
inReach Messenger Plus 010-02887-00 (US)
US purchase package
inReach Messenger Plus 010-02887-00 (US)010-02887-00; inReach Messenger Plus with photo and voice messaging; device only, no service plan
The satellite network the device uses and the coverage the manufacturer claims for it, including any cellular or Wi-Fi fallback through a paired phone.
Coverage is a manufacturer claim, not a tested result. Terrain, tree cover and buildings block satellites, and some countries restrict satellite communicators.
inReach Messenger Plus 010-02887-00 (US)Iridium satellite network, which Garmin describes as 100% global. Paired with the Garmin Messenger app, messages use the phone's Wi-Fi or cellular connection and switch to satellite beyond them.Coverage is a manufacturer claim. Garmin states that some jurisdictions regulate or prohibit satellite communication devices, and battery and messaging estimates assume a clear view of the sky.Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus product page (010-02887-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Consumer Plans (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
SOS coordination service
How an SOS is triggered and the emergency response coordination service the manufacturer names to receive it.
The named service contacts responders on your behalf. It does not guarantee rescue or a response time, and rescue costs can be the user's responsibility.
inReach Messenger Plus 010-02887-00 (US)Interactive SOS from a capped button on the device, or from the Garmin Messenger app, to Garmin Response, which Garmin describes as its 24/7-staffed international coordination center; two-way messaging continues during the incident.Garmin states SOS messaging is included in all consumer plans and needs an active satellite subscription. The manual states the device sends an updated location every minute for the first 10 minutes of an SOS, then every 10 minutes. Garmin Response notifies emergency responders; this is not a guarantee of rescue or of a response time.Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus product page (010-02887-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus Owner's Manual (April 2025)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.Garmin: inReach Consumer Plans (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Plan structure
The named service plans, billing period, minimum term, activation requirement and add-ons the manufacturer documents. Prices are not recorded.
Plan terms change. Check the minimum term, auto-renewal, cancellation terms and what each tier includes on the plans page before activating.
inReach Messenger Plus 010-02887-00 (US)Active inReach consumer plan required: Enabled, Essential, Standard or Premium, billed monthly and auto-renewing monthly, with a one-time activation fee. Tiers differ in included satellite texts, check-ins, photo and voice messages and tracking. Activate in the Garmin Messenger or Earthmate app.The Enabled plan charges per satellite message, and lower tiers charge for messages beyond their allowance. Photo and voice allowances apply to inReach Plus-enabled devices such as this one. Prices are not recorded; check the plans page before activating.Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Consumer Plans (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus Owner's Manual (April 2025)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Active plan required for messaging and SOS
Whether the manufacturer states that messaging and SOS need an active service subscription.
A device bought without a plan cannot message or send an SOS over satellite. The plan is a separate purchase with its own activation.
inReach Messenger Plus 010-02887-00 (US)YesGarmin: "Active satellite subscription required." The manual states messaging, SOS, tracking and inReach Weather all require an active satellite subscription.Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus product page (010-02887-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus Owner's Manual (April 2025)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Service can be paused or suspended
Whether the manufacturer documents pausing or suspending service without cancelling the account.
Read the note: some pauses carry a charge or a time limit, and SOS may be unavailable while service is paused.
inReach Messenger Plus 010-02887-00 (US)YesGarmin states service can be suspended for up to 12 consecutive months and that emergency SOS remains available during suspension only on select devices, which the plans page does not list. Whether this device keeps SOS while suspended is not established here.Source · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Consumer Plans (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
How messages are written and read
Whether messages are composed on the device's own screen and keyboard or in a paired phone app, and which message types are documented.
Photo and voice messages, group chats and contact sync often depend on the phone app. Check which features need the phone to be working.
inReach Messenger Plus 010-02887-00 (US)Monochrome display with buttons and a virtual keyboard for messages on the device. The Garmin Messenger app adds group messaging, contact sync, satellite photos and 30-second voice messages. Messages go to SMS numbers, email addresses and other inReach devices.Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus product page (010-02887-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus Owner's Manual (April 2025)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Custom messages without a phone
Whether the device itself can compose and read custom text messages when no phone is paired.
Screenless devices can still send a preset check-in or an SOS from their buttons; this field covers typed messages only.
inReach Messenger Plus 010-02887-00 (US)YesGarmin states the screen can be used to send messages and read responses even when the phone battery dies. Photo and voice messages require the paired app.Source · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus product page (010-02887-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Stated message length
The maximum length of a satellite text message published by the manufacturer.
Lengths can differ between satellite, app-to-app and SMS routes. Not stated is not the same as short.
inReach Messenger Plus 010-02887-00 (US)1600 charactersGarmin's specification list: send and receive 1,600 character messages.Source · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus product page (010-02887-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Dedicated number for the device
Whether the plan assigns the device its own phone number or SMS number so others can message it first.
A dedicated number is usually lost when the plan is cancelled. Unknown means the sources read do not state one.
inReach Messenger Plus 010-02887-00 (US)Not verified
We have not verified this value. It is not a confirmed no or zero. Check the original source or ask the manufacturer if it affects your choice.
The location-tracking send intervals the manufacturer lists and any plan or add-on that limits them.
Shorter intervals use more battery and, on some plans, more credits or messages. Some tracking needs an add-on subscription.
inReach Messenger Plus 010-02887-00 (US)Satellite live tracking at a 10-minute or longer interval on the Enabled, Essential and Standard plans and a 2-minute or longer interval on Premium; Enabled and Essential charge per tracking point. LiveTrack sharing works through the Garmin Messenger app.The manual states that the send interval affects battery life.Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Consumer Plans (US)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus product page (010-02887-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Battery life at a 10-minute interval
The manufacturer's battery-life estimate when a location or message is sent every 10 minutes, with the mode and conditions in the note.
Only figures stated for a 10-minute interval are recorded here. They assume a clear sky view and are estimates, not measurements.
inReach Messenger Plus 010-02887-00 (US)600 hUp to 600 hours with a text message or location sent every 10 minutes in low power messaging mode; up to 110 hours in performance messaging mode. Garmin's overview states up to 25 days in 10-minute tracking mode. Estimates assume a full sky view.Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus product page (010-02887-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus Owner's Manual (April 2025)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Battery claims and their conditions
Every battery-life figure the manufacturer publishes, each with the interval, mode or condition it states.
A figure without a stated interval cannot be compared with one measured at a stated interval. Cold, obstructions and frequent messages shorten battery life.
inReach Messenger Plus 010-02887-00 (US)Low power messaging mode: up to 120 h with a message or location every 2 min and up to 600 h every 10 min. Performance messaging mode: up to 70 h every 2 min and up to 110 h every 10 min. Up to 250 media messages per charge; up to 1 year turned off.Garmin states battery life estimates are with full sky view and can be significantly reduced by obstructions or tree cover.Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus product page (010-02887-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus Owner's Manual (April 2025)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Battery and charging
The documented battery type and capacity, charging connector and any charging limits.
Internal batteries are not user-replaceable. Bring the right cable and a power source for longer trips.
inReach Messenger Plus 010-02887-00 (US)Rechargeable built-in lithium-ion battery, capacity not stated; USB-C. Reverse charging can charge a phone from the device. Charging range 0 to 60 °C.Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus product page (010-02887-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus Owner's Manual (April 2025)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Device weight
The published weight of the device itself.
Where two official sources publish different weights the value is left unresolved and both are shown.
inReach Messenger Plus 010-02887-00 (US)117.2 g4.1 oz (117.2 g); 7.8 x 6.4 x 2.3 cm.Source · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus product page (010-02887-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Water and dust rating
The IP rating and any ruggedness standard the manufacturer states, with its stated depth and duration.
Ratings are manufacturer statements about test conditions. Satellite signals do not reach a device underwater.
inReach Messenger Plus 010-02887-00 (US)IPX7 (IEC 60529); the manual states it withstands incidental exposure to water up to 1 m for up to 30 minutes.Sources · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus product page (010-02887-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus Owner's Manual (April 2025)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Operating temperature
The operating temperature range the manufacturer publishes.
Cold reduces battery life, and charging ranges are often narrower than operating ranges.
inReach Messenger Plus 010-02887-00 (US)-10 to 60 °C (14 to 140 °F).Source · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus Owner's Manual (April 2025)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
In the box
Items the manufacturer or seller lists in the exact US package.
No package here includes a service plan. Mounts, cases and chargers are included only when listed.
inReach Messenger Plus 010-02887-00 (US)inReach Messenger Plus, USB-C cable and documentation, per Garmin's In the Box list.Source · 2026-10-21Garmin: inReach Messenger Plus product page (010-02887-00)Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Questions to check before buying
inReach Messenger Plus 010-02887-00 (US)
The 600-hour figure applies to low power messaging mode only; performance messaging mode is stated at 110 hours for the same 10-minute interval. Both are manufacturer estimates with a full sky view.
Garmin does not list which devices keep SOS during a suspended plan, and the pages read here do not state a dedicated phone number for the device.
Allow Google Analytics to measure page visits, engagement and clicks to sellers? It uses analytics cookies. Your choice won’t affect the comparison tools. Read our privacy policy.