Satellite messengers / Comparison
See what changes
Choose up to five exact US purchase options. Compare documented differences and open each source for its conditions.
Handheld two-way satellite communicators sold new in the US that require a manufacturer service plan. Satellite phones, personal locator beacons, one-way trackers, smartphones and phone-only satellite features, and measured coverage, battery or rescue-outcome rankings are outside this catalogue.
Scroll sideways to see every option. Open a field explanation or source for its conditions.
| Compare the details | Bivy Stick 4601 (US) |
|---|---|
| Community reviews | No community reviews yet. |
| US purchase package | Part number 4601; one-time Bivy Stick device purchase, not the Bivy Go device-and-plan offer and not the Bivy Stick MESH Bivy Go supplies a device with a 6- or 12-month Unlimited plan and is a different offer; the Bivy Stick MESH is a different product. Mount kits and the solar panel are optional accessories. A data plan and its activation fee are separate purchases. Price and availability are not recorded. Sources · 2026-10-21ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick satellite communicator product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.ACR Electronics: Bivy Go PlanChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
| Where to buy | Select: Part number 4601; one-time Bivy Stick device purchase, not the Bivy Go device-and-plan offer and not the Bivy Stick MESH View at ACR Electronics — Bivy Stick 4601 (US); opens in a new tabThe link may open several packages. Check current price and availability with the seller. Opens in a new tab. |
Satellite network and coverage claimThe satellite network the device uses and the coverage the manufacturer claims for it, including any cellular or Wi-Fi fallback through a paired phone. Coverage is a manufacturer claim, not a tested result. Terrain, tree cover and buildings block satellites, and some countries restrict satellite communicators. | Iridium satellite network; ACR describes 100% global coverage, and the user guide states all Bivy plans use the Iridium network.Coverage is a manufacturer claim. ACR lists countries it knows prohibit satellite communicators and makes compliance the user's responsibility.Sources · 2026-10-21ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick satellite communicator product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value. |
SOS coordination serviceHow an SOS is triggered and the emergency response coordination service the manufacturer names to receive it. The named service contacts responders on your behalf. It does not guarantee rescue or a response time, and rescue costs can be the user's responsibility. | Dedicated SOS button under a red flap, or SOS in the Bivy app, with 24/7 SOS monitoring by Global Rescue and two-way texting with Global Rescue through the app.ACR states SOS messages are included and do not decrement plan credits, and the guide states location is sent once per minute for 10 minutes, then every 10 minutes. ACR states the user could be responsible for rescue costs; a Global Rescue membership is optional. Dispatch of search and rescue is the manufacturer's description, not a guarantee.Sources · 2026-10-21ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick satellite communicator product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick data plansChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
Plan structureThe named service plans, billing period, minimum term, activation requirement and add-ons the manufacturer documents. Prices are not recorded. Plan terms change. Check the minimum term, auto-renewal, cancellation terms and what each tier includes on the plans page before activating. | Active Bivy base data plan required, chosen in the Bivy app at activation: Basic, Plus or Unlimited, monthly or annual (one-year contract). Credit-based: messages, weather and tracking use credits; check-ins are free. An initial commitment period and a one-time activation fee apply.The US plans page states a one-time 3-month commitment on Plus or Unlimited, Basic only after the initiation period, monthly auto-renewal afterwards, rollover of unused Basic and Plus credits, and loss of credits and number on deactivation. The user guide instead states a four-month commitment for the first activation. Prices are not recorded.Sources · 2026-10-21ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick data plansChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value. |
Active plan required for messaging and SOSWhether the manufacturer states that messaging and SOS need an active service subscription. A device bought without a plan cannot message or send an SOS over satellite. The plan is a separate purchase with its own activation. | YesThe user guide: "Messaging, tracking, SOS, weather and all Bivy Stick features require an active Bivy Stick base data plan." The product page states a monthly subscription is required.Sources · 2026-10-21ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick satellite communicator product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
Service can be paused or suspendedWhether the manufacturer documents pausing or suspending service without cancelling the account. Read the note: some pauses carry a charge or a time limit, and SOS may be unavailable while service is paused. | Not verifiedWe have not verified this value. It is not a confirmed no or zero. Check the original source or ask the manufacturer if it affects your choice. Source · 2026-10-21ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick data plansChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
How messages are written and readWhether messages are composed on the device's own screen and keyboard or in a paired phone app, and which message types are documented. Photo and voice messages, group chats and contact sync often depend on the phone app. Check which features need the phone to be working. | No display: status LEDs and buttons for power, check-in or tracking, and SOS. Messages to phone numbers, email addresses and other Bivy Sticks are typed in the Bivy app (iOS or Android) over Bluetooth LE; GroupTrack group messaging is listed on the Plus and Unlimited plans.Sources · 2026-10-21ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick satellite communicator product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick data plansChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
Custom messages without a phoneWhether the device itself can compose and read custom text messages when no phone is paired. Screenless devices can still send a preset check-in or an SOS from their buttons; this field covers typed messages only. | NoACR states the Bivy Stick transforms a smartphone into a satellite communicator; the device's own buttons send a preset check-in, start tracking or trigger SOS, and custom messages are written in the app.Sources · 2026-10-21ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick satellite communicator product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value. |
Stated message lengthThe maximum length of a satellite text message published by the manufacturer. Lengths can differ between satellite, app-to-app and SMS routes. Not stated is not the same as short. | 160 charactersMessages are limited to 160 characters.Sources · 2026-10-21ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick satellite communicator product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value. |
Dedicated number for the deviceWhether the plan assigns the device its own phone number or SMS number so others can message it first. A dedicated number is usually lost when the plan is cancelled. Unknown means the sources read do not state one. | YesDedicated phone number and email; the number is lost on deactivation, and a new one is assigned on reactivation.Sources · 2026-10-21ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick satellite communicator product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick data plansChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
Tracking intervalsThe location-tracking send intervals the manufacturer lists and any plan or add-on that limits them. Shorter intervals use more battery and, on some plans, more credits or messages. Some tracking needs an add-on subscription. | 2, 5, 10 (default), 30 or 60 minutes, each using plan credits at a stated rate from 1 credit per 12 minutes at the 2-minute interval to 1 credit per 6 hours at 60 minutes. Started from the app or by holding the device's check-in button.Sources · 2026-10-21ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick data plansChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick satellite communicator product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
Battery life at a 10-minute intervalThe manufacturer's battery-life estimate when a location or message is sent every 10 minutes, with the mode and conditions in the note. Only figures stated for a 10-minute interval are recorded here. They assume a clear sky view and are estimates, not measurements. | Not verifiedWe have not verified this value. It is not a confirmed no or zero. Check the original source or ask the manufacturer if it affects your choice. Sources · 2026-10-21ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick satellite communicator product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value. |
Battery claims and their conditionsEvery battery-life figure the manufacturer publishes, each with the interval, mode or condition it states. A figure without a stated interval cannot be compared with one measured at a stated interval. Cold, obstructions and frequent messages shorten battery life. | Up to 120 hours with mailbox checks every 15 minutes, approximately 100 hours with 24/7 tracking (interval not stated) and a 2-hour SOS reserve, per the product page and its FAQ.The user guide states up to 120 hours of standard operation at the default setting.Sources · 2026-10-21ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick satellite communicator product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value. |
Battery and chargingThe documented battery type and capacity, charging connector and any charging limits. Internal batteries are not user-replaceable. Bring the right cable and a power source for longer trips. | 1400 mAh lithium-ion polymer battery, internal and not user-replaceable; USB-C. Charge time 2 to 4 hours, about 1.5 hours with a USB-C charger and USB-C to USB-C cable.Sources · 2026-10-21ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick satellite communicator product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value. |
Device weightThe published weight of the device itself. Where two official sources publish different weights the value is left unresolved and both are shown. | Sources disagreeThe sources give different answers, so we have not chosen one as fact. Read the attached notes and confirm the current specification before relying on it. Sources · 2026-10-21ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick satellite communicator product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value. |
Water and dust ratingThe IP rating and any ruggedness standard the manufacturer states, with its stated depth and duration. Ratings are manufacturer statements about test conditions. Satellite signals do not reach a device underwater. | Sources disagreeThe sources give different answers, so we have not chosen one as fact. Read the attached notes and confirm the current specification before relying on it. Sources · 2026-10-21ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick satellite communicator product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value. |
Operating temperatureThe operating temperature range the manufacturer publishes. Cold reduces battery life, and charging ranges are often narrower than operating ranges. | Optimal operating temperature 10 to 105 °F, per the user guide.The product page does not list an operating temperature range.Source · 2026-10-21ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value. |
In the boxItems the manufacturer or seller lists in the exact US package. No package here includes a service plan. Mounts, cases and chargers are included only when listed. | USB-C charging cable, carabiner, cord and 1/4-20 mount adaptor, per the specification table; the features list names a USB-C charging cable, carabiner, lanyard, Quick Start guide and GoPro adapter.The two lists on the same page name the cord or lanyard and the mount adaptor differently and only one mentions the Quick Start guide.Source · 2026-10-21ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick satellite communicator product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
| Questions to check before buying | Weight and water rating differ between the current product page and the 2023 user guide; confirm with ACR for the unit you buy. The first-activation commitment differs between the plans page (3 months) and the user guide (four months), and the 120-hour battery figure is not a 10-minute tracking figure. |