A screenless Iridium communicator that turns a phone running the Bivy app into a satellite messenger, with SOS and check-in buttons on the device, a dedicated number and credit-based plans.
Iridium satellite network; ACR describes 100% global coverage, and the user guide states all Bivy plans use the Iridium network.
Coverage is a manufacturer claim, not a tested result. Terrain, tree cover and buildings block satellites, and some countries restrict satellite communicators.
Coverage is a manufacturer claim. ACR lists countries it knows prohibit satellite communicators and makes compliance the user's responsibility.
Dedicated SOS button under a red flap, or SOS in the Bivy app, with 24/7 SOS monitoring by Global Rescue and two-way texting with Global Rescue through the app.
The named service contacts responders on your behalf. It does not guarantee rescue or a response time, and rescue costs can be the user's responsibility.
ACR states SOS messages are included and do not decrement plan credits, and the guide states location is sent once per minute for 10 minutes, then every 10 minutes. ACR states the user could be responsible for rescue costs; a Global Rescue membership is optional. Dispatch of search and rescue is the manufacturer's description, not a guarantee.
Active Bivy base data plan required, chosen in the Bivy app at activation: Basic, Plus or Unlimited, monthly or annual (one-year contract). Credit-based: messages, weather and tracking use credits; check-ins are free. An initial commitment period and a one-time activation fee apply.
Plan terms change. Check the minimum term, auto-renewal, cancellation terms and what each tier includes on the plans page before activating.
The US plans page states a one-time 3-month commitment on Plus or Unlimited, Basic only after the initiation period, monthly auto-renewal afterwards, rollover of unused Basic and Plus credits, and loss of credits and number on deactivation. The user guide instead states a four-month commitment for the first activation. Prices are not recorded.
Bivy Go supplies a device with a 6- or 12-month Unlimited plan and is a different offer; the Bivy Stick MESH is a different product. Mount kits and the solar panel are optional accessories. A data plan and its activation fee are separate purchases. Price and availability are not recorded.
Handheld two-way satellite communicators sold new in the US that require a manufacturer service plan. Satellite phones, personal locator beacons, one-way trackers, smartphones and phone-only satellite features, and measured coverage, battery or rescue-outcome rankings are outside this catalogue.
Open a field explanation or source for its conditions.
Documented specifications and exact purchase packages
Compare the details
Bivy Stick 4601 (US)
US purchase package
Bivy Stick 4601 (US)Part number 4601; one-time Bivy Stick device purchase, not the Bivy Go device-and-plan offer and not the Bivy Stick MESH
Bivy Go supplies a device with a 6- or 12-month Unlimited plan and is a different offer; the Bivy Stick MESH is a different product. Mount kits and the solar panel are optional accessories.
A data plan and its activation fee are separate purchases. Price and availability are not recorded.
The satellite network the device uses and the coverage the manufacturer claims for it, including any cellular or Wi-Fi fallback through a paired phone.
Coverage is a manufacturer claim, not a tested result. Terrain, tree cover and buildings block satellites, and some countries restrict satellite communicators.
Bivy Stick 4601 (US)Iridium satellite network; ACR describes 100% global coverage, and the user guide states all Bivy plans use the Iridium network.Coverage is a manufacturer claim. ACR lists countries it knows prohibit satellite communicators and makes compliance the user's responsibility.Sources · 2026-10-21ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick satellite communicator product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
SOS coordination service
How an SOS is triggered and the emergency response coordination service the manufacturer names to receive it.
The named service contacts responders on your behalf. It does not guarantee rescue or a response time, and rescue costs can be the user's responsibility.
Bivy Stick 4601 (US)Dedicated SOS button under a red flap, or SOS in the Bivy app, with 24/7 SOS monitoring by Global Rescue and two-way texting with Global Rescue through the app.ACR states SOS messages are included and do not decrement plan credits, and the guide states location is sent once per minute for 10 minutes, then every 10 minutes. ACR states the user could be responsible for rescue costs; a Global Rescue membership is optional. Dispatch of search and rescue is the manufacturer's description, not a guarantee.Sources · 2026-10-21ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick satellite communicator product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick data plansChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Plan structure
The named service plans, billing period, minimum term, activation requirement and add-ons the manufacturer documents. Prices are not recorded.
Plan terms change. Check the minimum term, auto-renewal, cancellation terms and what each tier includes on the plans page before activating.
Bivy Stick 4601 (US)Active Bivy base data plan required, chosen in the Bivy app at activation: Basic, Plus or Unlimited, monthly or annual (one-year contract). Credit-based: messages, weather and tracking use credits; check-ins are free. An initial commitment period and a one-time activation fee apply.The US plans page states a one-time 3-month commitment on Plus or Unlimited, Basic only after the initiation period, monthly auto-renewal afterwards, rollover of unused Basic and Plus credits, and loss of credits and number on deactivation. The user guide instead states a four-month commitment for the first activation. Prices are not recorded.Sources · 2026-10-21ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick data plansChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Active plan required for messaging and SOS
Whether the manufacturer states that messaging and SOS need an active service subscription.
A device bought without a plan cannot message or send an SOS over satellite. The plan is a separate purchase with its own activation.
Bivy Stick 4601 (US)YesThe user guide: "Messaging, tracking, SOS, weather and all Bivy Stick features require an active Bivy Stick base data plan." The product page states a monthly subscription is required.Sources · 2026-10-21ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick satellite communicator product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Service can be paused or suspended
Whether the manufacturer documents pausing or suspending service without cancelling the account.
Read the note: some pauses carry a charge or a time limit, and SOS may be unavailable while service is paused.
Bivy Stick 4601 (US)Not verified
We have not verified this value. It is not a confirmed no or zero. Check the original source or ask the manufacturer if it affects your choice.
The plans page describes changing or deactivating a plan after the initial commitment, with loss of rollover credits and the assigned number on deactivation; it does not describe a pause that keeps the account.Source · 2026-10-21ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick data plansChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
How messages are written and read
Whether messages are composed on the device's own screen and keyboard or in a paired phone app, and which message types are documented.
Photo and voice messages, group chats and contact sync often depend on the phone app. Check which features need the phone to be working.
Bivy Stick 4601 (US)No display: status LEDs and buttons for power, check-in or tracking, and SOS. Messages to phone numbers, email addresses and other Bivy Sticks are typed in the Bivy app (iOS or Android) over Bluetooth LE; GroupTrack group messaging is listed on the Plus and Unlimited plans.Sources · 2026-10-21ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick satellite communicator product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick data plansChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Custom messages without a phone
Whether the device itself can compose and read custom text messages when no phone is paired.
Screenless devices can still send a preset check-in or an SOS from their buttons; this field covers typed messages only.
Bivy Stick 4601 (US)NoACR states the Bivy Stick transforms a smartphone into a satellite communicator; the device's own buttons send a preset check-in, start tracking or trigger SOS, and custom messages are written in the app.Sources · 2026-10-21ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick satellite communicator product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Stated message length
The maximum length of a satellite text message published by the manufacturer.
Lengths can differ between satellite, app-to-app and SMS routes. Not stated is not the same as short.
Whether the plan assigns the device its own phone number or SMS number so others can message it first.
A dedicated number is usually lost when the plan is cancelled. Unknown means the sources read do not state one.
Bivy Stick 4601 (US)YesDedicated phone number and email; the number is lost on deactivation, and a new one is assigned on reactivation.Sources · 2026-10-21ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick satellite communicator product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick data plansChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Tracking intervals
The location-tracking send intervals the manufacturer lists and any plan or add-on that limits them.
Shorter intervals use more battery and, on some plans, more credits or messages. Some tracking needs an add-on subscription.
Bivy Stick 4601 (US)2, 5, 10 (default), 30 or 60 minutes, each using plan credits at a stated rate from 1 credit per 12 minutes at the 2-minute interval to 1 credit per 6 hours at 60 minutes. Started from the app or by holding the device's check-in button.Sources · 2026-10-21ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick data plansChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick satellite communicator product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Battery life at a 10-minute interval
The manufacturer's battery-life estimate when a location or message is sent every 10 minutes, with the mode and conditions in the note.
Only figures stated for a 10-minute interval are recorded here. They assume a clear sky view and are estimates, not measurements.
Bivy Stick 4601 (US)Not verified
We have not verified this value. It is not a confirmed no or zero. Check the original source or ask the manufacturer if it affects your choice.
ACR's FAQ states approximately 100 hours with 24/7 tracking without naming the interval. The default tracking interval is 10 minutes, but the figure is not attributed to it here.Sources · 2026-10-21ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick satellite communicator product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Battery claims and their conditions
Every battery-life figure the manufacturer publishes, each with the interval, mode or condition it states.
A figure without a stated interval cannot be compared with one measured at a stated interval. Cold, obstructions and frequent messages shorten battery life.
Bivy Stick 4601 (US)Up to 120 hours with mailbox checks every 15 minutes, approximately 100 hours with 24/7 tracking (interval not stated) and a 2-hour SOS reserve, per the product page and its FAQ.The user guide states up to 120 hours of standard operation at the default setting.Sources · 2026-10-21ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick satellite communicator product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Battery and charging
The documented battery type and capacity, charging connector and any charging limits.
Internal batteries are not user-replaceable. Bring the right cable and a power source for longer trips.
Bivy Stick 4601 (US)1400 mAh lithium-ion polymer battery, internal and not user-replaceable; USB-C. Charge time 2 to 4 hours, about 1.5 hours with a USB-C charger and USB-C to USB-C cable.Sources · 2026-10-21ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick satellite communicator product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Device weight
The published weight of the device itself.
Where two official sources publish different weights the value is left unresolved and both are shown.
Bivy Stick 4601 (US)Sources disagree
The sources give different answers, so we have not chosen one as fact. Read the attached notes and confirm the current specification before relying on it.
The product page specification table and the user guide publish different weights and dimensions. A 0.50 lb weight in the page's additional-information table is not used as the device weight.Sources · 2026-10-21ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick satellite communicator product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
Water and dust rating
The IP rating and any ruggedness standard the manufacturer states, with its stated depth and duration.
Ratings are manufacturer statements about test conditions. Satellite signals do not reach a device underwater.
Bivy Stick 4601 (US)Sources disagree
The sources give different answers, so we have not chosen one as fact. Read the attached notes and confirm the current specification before relying on it.
The operating temperature range the manufacturer publishes.
Cold reduces battery life, and charging ranges are often narrower than operating ranges.
Bivy Stick 4601 (US)Optimal operating temperature 10 to 105 °F, per the user guide.The product page does not list an operating temperature range.Source · 2026-10-21ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick User GuideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
In the box
Items the manufacturer or seller lists in the exact US package.
No package here includes a service plan. Mounts, cases and chargers are included only when listed.
Bivy Stick 4601 (US)USB-C charging cable, carabiner, cord and 1/4-20 mount adaptor, per the specification table; the features list names a USB-C charging cable, carabiner, lanyard, Quick Start guide and GoPro adapter.The two lists on the same page name the cord or lanyard and the mount adaptor differently and only one mentions the Quick Start guide.Source · 2026-10-21ACR Electronics: Bivy Stick satellite communicator product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Questions to check before buying
Bivy Stick 4601 (US)
Weight and water rating differ between the current product page and the 2023 user guide; confirm with ACR for the unit you buy.
The first-activation commitment differs between the plans page (3 months) and the user guide (four months), and the 120-hour battery figure is not a 10-minute tracking figure.
Allow Google Analytics to measure page visits, engagement and clicks to sellers? It uses analytics cookies. Your choice won’t affect the comparison tools. Read our privacy policy.