Orbi 970 RBE973S vs eero Max 7: 10 Gb/s mesh 3-packs
Compare two three-unit Wi-Fi 7 mesh packs with 10 Gb/s ports: a quad-band router-and-satellite system and a tri-band system of identical units.
The decision in brief
How the options differ
Both exact US packs contain three units, connect to an existing modem and document Ethernet backhaul. The Orbi 970 uses a dedicated router and two satellites with four radios and dedicated wireless backhaul; eero Max 7 uses three identical tri-band units with a built-in smart home hub. NETGEAR publishes a 3-pack coverage figure; eero publishes coverage per unit only.
By CompareFoundry · Published · Editorial review · Manufacturer documentation, not hands-on testing.
The buying guide
Package and specification details
Compare ports by unit role
The Orbi router has a 10 Gig internet port, a 10 Gbps LAN port and four 2.5 Gbps LAN ports, and each satellite one 10 Gbps port and two 2.5 Gbps ports. Every eero Max 7 has two 10 GbE and two 2.5 GbE auto-sensing ports, and eero states wired speeds up to 9.4 Gbps.
NETGEAR lists four radios, with 5 GHz-1 and 6 GHz used for dedicated backhaul through Multi-Link Operation, and publishes 11530 Mbps on 6 GHz. eero lists 2.4, 5 and 6 GHz radios and up to 4.3 Gbps wireless, without per-band rates or a named backhaul band.
NETGEAR states up to 10,000 sq ft and up to 200 concurrent devices for the 3-pack system. eero states 2,500 sq ft and 250+ devices per unit and gives no 3-pack total. Neither figure is a measured result for a particular home.
The RBE973S page lists RBE971B and RBE970B units in the box while the manual names RBE971 and RBE970; eero displays no unit model number. NETGEAR Armor and eero Plus are optional paid services, and the length of the included Armor trial is not stated.
eero documents a Zigbee-compatible hub with Thread and Matter support in each eero Max 7. The Orbi pages read list no Thread, Zigbee or Matter role, so that field stays unknown rather than recorded as absent.
These manufacturer specifications do not establish measured performance, noise, long-term reliability or running cost. We have not independently tested these products. Check current prices, stock and operating-space instructions with the seller and manufacturer.
Orbi 970 Series RBE973S 3-pack, Classic White (US)RBE973S (structured data SKU RBE973S-100NAS); Classic White; 1 router and 2 satellites; not the RBE973SB Black Edition, the RBE972S 2-pack or a single router or satellite
The 1-pack and 2-pack are separate selections on the same page. No part number for the pack is displayed on the page read.
eero states box contents only for a single unit. Price and stock are not recorded.
Sources · 2026-10-21eero: eero Max 7 product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.eero: eero Max 7 support articleChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Where to buy
Orbi 970 Series RBE973S 3-pack, Classic White (US)
Select: RBE973S (structured data SKU RBE973S-100NAS); Classic White; 1 router and 2 satellites; not the RBE973SB Black Edition, the RBE972S 2-pack or a single router or satellite
The link may open several packages. Check current price and availability with the seller. Opens in a new tab.
Wi-Fi generation
The Wi-Fi generation and IEEE 802.11 standard the manufacturer lists for the units.
Wi-Fi 7 features such as 320 MHz channels and Multi-Link Operation need client devices that also support them. Wi-Fi 6E adds the 6 GHz band without those Wi-Fi 7 features.
eero Max 7 3-pack (US)Wi-Fi 7 (802.11be).Sources · 2026-10-21eero: eero Max 7 support articleChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.eero: Compare eero modelsChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Radio bands per unit
How many simultaneous Wi-Fi radios each unit has, counting two 5 GHz radios separately.
Tri-band and quad-band describe radio count, not speed or coverage. Some systems reserve part of a band for links between units.
eero Max 7 3-pack (US)3 bands2.4 GHz, 5 GHz and 6 GHz.Sources · 2026-10-21eero: eero Max 7 support articleChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.eero: Compare eero modelsChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Radios and published rates
The manufacturer's speed class and any per-band maximum signal rates it publishes.
These are IEEE maximum signal rates added together, not measured throughput or internet speed. A combined class such as BE10000 does not tell you what one device can reach.
Orbi 970 Series RBE973S 3-pack, Classic White (US)BE27000 class: 6 GHz 11530 Mbps (320 MHz), 5 GHz-2 8647 Mbps (240 MHz), 5 GHz-1 5765 Mbps (160 MHz), 2.4 GHz 1147 Mbps.NETGEAR describes these as maximum wireless signal rates derived from IEEE 802.11be and states that actual throughput and coverage will vary.Sources · 2026-10-21NETGEAR: Orbi WiFi 7 router RBE971 and satellite RBE970 user manualChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.NETGEAR: Orbi 970 Series RBE973S quad-band WiFi 7 mesh product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
eero Max 7 3-pack (US)Wireless speeds up to 4.3 Gbps across the 2.4, 5 and 6 GHz bands with a 2x4x4 antenna array; no speed class or per-band rates are published on the pages read.Sources · 2026-10-21eero: eero Max 7 support articleChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.eero: Compare eero modelsChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
6 GHz maximum signal rate
The published maximum signal rate of the 6 GHz radio, where the manufacturer breaks it out.
A physical-layer maximum for a capable client, not a throughput result. Devices without 6 GHz support cannot use this band.
We have not verified this value. It is not a confirmed no or zero. Check the original source or ask the manufacturer if it affects your choice.
eero publishes a 4.3 Gbps wireless figure but no per-band breakdown.Sources · 2026-10-21eero: eero Max 7 support articleChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.eero: Compare eero modelsChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Units in the package
How many mesh units are in the exact US pack selected.
Package-level fact. A 2-pack and a 3-pack of the same system are different offers with different part numbers.
eero Max 7 3-pack (US)3 unitsSource · 2026-10-21eero: eero Max 7 product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Unit types and model numbers
Whether the system uses identical units or a dedicated router with satellites, and the unit model numbers the manufacturer publishes.
System part numbers and unit model numbers differ. Use them to match a replacement or add-on unit, and keep any conflicting suffixes visible.
Orbi 970 Series RBE973S 3-pack, Classic White (US)One dedicated Orbi router plus Orbi satellites; unit model numbers are kept in the note because NETGEAR sources disagree on a B suffix.The user manual names the router RBE971 and the satellite RBE970. The RBE973S page and the RBE973SB Black Edition spec sheet list RBE971B and RBE970B in the box. Which suffix ships in the white RBE973S is not resolved.Sources · 2026-10-21NETGEAR: Orbi 970 Series RBE973S quad-band WiFi 7 mesh product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.NETGEAR: Orbi 970 Series RBE973SB technical specifications (TS-RBE973SB-2)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.NETGEAR: Orbi WiFi 7 router RBE971 and satellite RBE970 user manualChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
eero Max 7 3-pack (US)Identical eero Max 7 units in each pack listing; the pages read state no separate unit roles or hardware model number.Sources · 2026-10-21eero: eero Max 7 product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.eero: eero Max 7 support articleChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Claimed coverage for this pack
The manufacturer's coverage figure for the selected pack size, where it publishes one for that pack.
Package-level fact and a manufacturer claim, not a measurement. Walls, floors and placement change the result. We do not multiply a per-unit figure.
Orbi 970 Series RBE973S 3-pack, Classic White (US)10000 sq ftNETGEAR's claim for the 3-pack; it states up to 6,600 sq ft for the 2-pack.Source · 2026-10-21NETGEAR: Orbi 970 Series RBE973S quad-band WiFi 7 mesh product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
eero Max 7 3-pack (US)Not verified
We have not verified this value. It is not a confirmed no or zero. Check the original source or ask the manufacturer if it affects your choice.
eero publishes coverage per unit only (2,500 sq ft); no 3-pack figure is stated and none is derived here.Sources · 2026-10-21eero: eero Max 7 product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.eero: eero Max 7 support articleChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Claimed coverage per unit
The manufacturer's coverage figure for a single unit, where it publishes one.
A per-unit claim does not establish what a pack covers once its units are placed in a particular home.
Orbi 970 Series RBE973S 3-pack, Classic White (US)3300 sq ftNETGEAR states up to 3,300 sq ft for the router and for each satellite.Source · 2026-10-21NETGEAR: Orbi 970 Series RBE973S quad-band WiFi 7 mesh product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
eero Max 7 3-pack (US)2500 sq ftA single eero Max 7 is stated to cover up to 2,500 sq ft; eero notes range may be reduced by placement and building materials.Sources · 2026-10-21eero: eero Max 7 support articleChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.eero: Compare eero modelsChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Connected-device claim
The manufacturer's statement about how many devices the unit or system supports, with its stated basis.
Device counts are manufacturer claims, often from laboratory tests, and some are per unit while others are per system.
Orbi 970 Series RBE973S 3-pack, Classic White (US)Up to 200 concurrent devices, stated on the RBE973S page for the system.Source · 2026-10-21NETGEAR: Orbi 970 Series RBE973S quad-band WiFi 7 mesh product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
eero Max 7 3-pack (US)250+ devices; the comparison grid states 250+ per eero.Sources · 2026-10-21eero: eero Max 7 support articleChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.eero: Compare eero modelsChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Ethernet ports per unit
The wired ports on the unit connected to the modem and on each other unit, with their speeds and WAN or LAN roles.
One port usually becomes the internet (WAN) port, which leaves the rest for devices or backhaul. Multi-gig ports need multi-gig equipment at the other end.
eero Max 7 3-pack (US)Each unit: 2 x auto-sensing 10 GbE ports and 2 x auto-sensing 2.5 GbE ports; eero states wired speeds up to 9.4 Gbps and compatibility with internet plans up to 10 Gbps.Sources · 2026-10-21eero: eero Max 7 support articleChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.eero: Compare eero modelsChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Ethernet ports on the main unit
The total number of RJ45 Ethernet ports on the unit that connects to the modem, including the internet port.
Subtract the port used for the modem connection and any backhaul cable to find the ports left for wired devices.
eero Max 7 3-pack (US)4 portsSources · 2026-10-21eero: eero Max 7 support articleChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.eero: Compare eero modelsChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Fastest Ethernet port on the main unit
The highest nominal link rate of any Ethernet port on the unit that connects to the modem.
A nominal port rate, not your internet speed. The modem, cable and connected device must support the same rate.
eero Max 7 3-pack (US)10 Gb/sNominal port rate; eero's own wired-speed figure is up to 9.4 Gbps.Sources · 2026-10-21eero: eero Max 7 support articleChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.eero: Compare eero modelsChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Ethernet backhaul documented
Whether the manufacturer documents connecting the units to each other with Ethernet cables.
Wired backhaul needs cable runs you supply, and the connection is limited by the slowest port and cable in the path.
Orbi 970 Series RBE973S 3-pack, Classic White (US)YesThe manual describes Ethernet backhaul between the 10G ports, with daisy-chain and switch topologies; the 2.5G ports also work but are slower.Sources · 2026-10-21NETGEAR: Orbi WiFi 7 router RBE971 and satellite RBE970 user manualChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.NETGEAR: Orbi 970 Series RBE973S quad-band WiFi 7 mesh product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
eero Max 7 3-pack (US)Yeseero documents Ethernet backhaul through a switch or by daisy-chaining units.Source · 2026-10-21eero: Can I connect my eeros with Ethernet?Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Wireless links between units
How the manufacturer describes the wireless connection between units, including any dedicated backhaul radios.
A dedicated backhaul radio is a design statement, not a tested speed between rooms. Where the band is not named, the note says so.
eero Max 7 3-pack (US)eero describes TrueMesh software keeping devices on the best connection and units finding the best path when not wired; no dedicated backhaul radio is named.Sources · 2026-10-21eero: eero Max 7 product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.eero: Can I connect my eeros with Ethernet?Checked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Smart home radios and hub roles
Any Thread, Zigbee, Matter or voice-assistant role the manufacturer documents for the units.
A built-in Thread border router or Matter controller is a manufacturer statement. It does not establish that every smart home device or feature works.
Orbi 970 Series RBE973S 3-pack, Classic White (US)Not verified
We have not verified this value. It is not a confirmed no or zero. Check the original source or ask the manufacturer if it affects your choice.
eero Max 7 3-pack (US)Zigbee-compatible smart home hub, Thread compatible and Matter compliant; works with Alexa. The comparison grid adds Bluetooth Low Energy 5.0 and Matter as a controller only.Sources · 2026-10-21eero: eero Max 7 support articleChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.eero: Compare eero modelsChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Optional paid services
Security, filtering or management services the manufacturer sells separately from the hardware, and what it lists as included.
A trial is not a permanent entitlement and fees are not recorded here. Check what the free app still does without a subscription.
Orbi 970 Series RBE973S 3-pack, Classic White (US)Optional NETGEAR Armor subscription, powered by Bitdefender, for threat protection and VPN; the page says a trial is included without stating its length.The quick start materials mention smart parental controls in the Orbi app without stating whether they are paid. Fees are not recorded.Sources · 2026-10-21NETGEAR: Orbi 970 Series RBE973S quad-band WiFi 7 mesh product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.NETGEAR: Orbi 970 Series RBE973SB technical specifications (TS-RBE973SB-2)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
eero Max 7 3-pack (US)Optional eero Plus subscription, auto-renewing after a free trial, adds features such as advanced security, ad blocking, content filters, VPN, password management and antivirus. eero lists speed tests, device blocking, profiles, pausing devices and guest wifi as included without it.eero's product page lists parental controls among eero Plus features, while its comparison grid describes a free eero app with parental controls; the split between free and paid controls is not settled by these pages. Fees are not recorded.Sources · 2026-10-21eero: eero Max 7 product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.eero: eero Plus subscription pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Setup app and account
The app, account and existing equipment the manufacturer says setup requires.
None of these kits is a modem. Most need a phone app and a manufacturer account; a browser interface is noted only where documented.
eero Max 7 3-pack (US)Set up with the eero app, starting from the QR code on the side of the box; connects to an existing modem.Sources · 2026-10-21eero: eero Max 7 support articleChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.eero: eero Max 7 product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Unit dimensions
The published size of one unit, and its weight where stated.
Body dimensions are not a placement recommendation. Follow any placement guidance the manufacturer gives.
eero Max 7 3-pack (US)7.24 x 8.73 x 3.54 in (183.90 x 221.89 x 89.90 mm) W x H x D, per the comparison grid; weight not stated.Source · 2026-10-21eero: Compare eero modelsChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
In the box
The items the manufacturer or seller lists for the exact US pack.
Package-level fact. Quantities of adapters and Ethernet cables differ by pack, and extra cables for wired backhaul are usually separate.
Orbi 970 Series RBE973S 3-pack, Classic White (US)One Orbi router, two Orbi satellites, one Ethernet cable, three 19 V/3.16 A power adapters and a quick start guide; the page lists the units as RBE971B and RBE970B (see the unit model note).Sources · 2026-10-21NETGEAR: Orbi 970 Series RBE973S quad-band WiFi 7 mesh product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.NETGEAR: Orbi 970 Series RBE972S/RBE973S quick start guideChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.
eero Max 7 3-pack (US)Not verified
We have not verified this value. It is not a confirmed no or zero. Check the original source or ask the manufacturer if it affects your choice.
The support article lists one eero Max 7, one power supply unit and one Ethernet cable, and the comparison grid lists a 45 W USB-C power adapter and a CAT6a cable per router; the 3-pack box is not itemized.Sources · 2026-10-21eero: eero Max 7 support articleChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.eero: Compare eero modelsChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Questions to check before buying
Orbi 970 Series RBE973S 3-pack, Classic White (US)
Unit model suffixes conflict between the user manual (RBE971, RBE970) and the RBE973S page and Black Edition spec sheet (RBE971B, RBE970B); confirm the units in the box before buying a matching add-on satellite.
Coverage, device count and the BE27000 class are manufacturer claims; NETGEAR states that the 6 GHz band is limited to indoor range and that throughput varies with conditions.
The length of the included NETGEAR Armor trial is not stated on the pages read.
eero Max 7 3-pack (US)
eero publishes no speed class or per-band rates for eero Max 7 on the pages read, only a 4.3 Gbps wireless figure.
Coverage is stated per unit (2,500 sq ft); no 3-pack figure is published, and box contents are listed for a single unit only.
Allow Google Analytics to measure page visits, engagement and clicks to sellers? It uses analytics cookies. Your choice won’t affect the comparison tools. Read our privacy policy.