A considered comparison

EINSTAR 2 vs EINSTAR VEGA: wireless to a computer or no computer at all

Decide whether you want a battery scanner that still needs a powerful computer or a standalone unit with its own screen and processor.

The decision in brief

How the options differ

Both SHINING 3D packages are sold on the EINSTAR US store without a published accuracy figure. EINSTAR 2 pairs blue laser lines and infrared modes with a wireless link to a demanding Windows or Mac configuration. EINSTAR VEGA scans on its own touchscreen and uses a computer only for processing.

Sources · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 product page, bundles and box listChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA product page and box listChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.

By · Published · Editorial review · Manufacturer documentation, not hands-on testing.

The buying guide

Package and specification details

Decide where the scanning software runs

EINSTAR 2 lists an RTX 3060 Laptop GPU, 32 GB DDR5 and a 13th Gen Core i7, or a MacBook Pro M1 or newer on macOS Tahoe 26.2. EINSTAR VEGA states no computer is required for scanning; its StarVision PC program is for later processing.

Sources · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.

Compare the light sources and modes

EINSTAR 2 offers a 17-line blue laser mode at 100 to 600 mm with marker alignment and an infrared mode at 160 to 1400 mm with feature alignment. EINSTAR VEGA is infrared only, with an HD mode at 100 to 350 mm and a Fast mode at 270 to 1500 mm.

Sources · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.

Keep the missing figures visible

Neither product publishes an accuracy claim, and VEGA publishes no object size limits. Both base packages list a case, calibration board, markers and power equipment but no tripod or turntable. Licence terms for EXStar Hub and StarVision are not stated.

Sources · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 product page, bundles and box listChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA product page and box listChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.

Common questions

Is the 0.05 mm figure an accuracy claim for these scanners?

No. On both products 0.05 mm is the finest published resolution or point distance. SHINING 3D publishes no accuracy figure for EINSTAR 2 or EINSTAR VEGA on the pages reviewed.

Sources · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.

Evidence limits

These manufacturer specifications do not establish measured performance, noise, long-term reliability or running cost. We have not independently tested these products. Check current prices, stock and operating-space instructions with the seller and manufacturer.

Product specifications and sources

These notes apply to the starting packages. Changing a selection opens your own comparison and hides the notes that no longer apply.

Report a correction

Compare the starting packages

Scroll sideways to see every option. Open a field explanation or source for its conditions.

Documented specifications and exact purchase packages
Compare the detailsEINSTAR 2 base bundle (US)EINSTAR VEGA regular edition (US)
Community reviews

No community reviews yet.
Purchase packages of the same model share one community score.

Read all reviews Write a review

No community reviews yet.
Purchase packages of the same model share one community score.

Read all reviews Write a review
US purchase packageBundle: EINSTAR 2 (SKU EINSTAR 2) on the EINSTAR US official store in USD; not EINSTAR 2 + EXModel Personal or EINSTAR 2 + Accessories

Product & sources

No tripod, turntable or phone equipment is listed; the + Accessories bundle is a different selection.

Sources · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 product page, bundles and box listChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Default Title single variant (SKU EINSTARVEGATX3-1) on the EINSTAR US official store in USD; regular edition, not the limited edition

Product & sources

No tripod or turntable is listed. The specification page names a limited edition with a different weight; the store offers one variant.

Sources · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA product page and box listChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Where to buy

Select: Bundle: EINSTAR 2 (SKU EINSTAR 2) on the EINSTAR US official store in USD; not EINSTAR 2 + EXModel Personal or EINSTAR 2 + Accessories

View at EINSTAR US official store (SHINING 3D) — EINSTAR 2 base bundle (US); opens in a new tab

The link may open several packages. Check current price and availability with the seller. Opens in a new tab.

Select: Default Title single variant (SKU EINSTARVEGATX3-1) on the EINSTAR US official store in USD; regular edition, not the limited edition

View at EINSTAR US official store (SHINING 3D) — EINSTAR VEGA regular edition (US); opens in a new tab

The link may open several packages. Check current price and availability with the seller. Opens in a new tab.

Hybrid light source: Laser HD mode with 17 blue parallel laser lines (Class 2 laser) and IR Rapid mode with infrared VCSEL. Alignment by global marker, markers, features, texture or hybrid.Laser HD aligns by global marker or markers only; the feature, texture and hybrid options apply to IR Rapid.
Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Infrared structured light: HD mode uses an infrared MEMS projector and Fast mode uses infrared VCSEL; 48 MP RGB texture camera. Alignment by feature, texture, markers or hybrid.The product page also lists 12 mm marker alignment and a scanning rewind function.
Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Not verified

We have not verified this value. It is not a confirmed no or zero. Check the original source or ask the manufacturer if it affects your choice.

Neither the product page nor the specification page publishes an accuracy figure; they state resolution and scan speed only.
Sources · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 product page, bundles and box listChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Not verified

We have not verified this value. It is not a confirmed no or zero. Check the original source or ask the manufacturer if it affects your choice.

Neither page publishes an accuracy figure. The 0.05 mm figure on the product page is labelled resolution, not accuracy.
Sources · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA product page and box listChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Not verified

We have not verified this value. It is not a confirmed no or zero. Check the original source or ask the manufacturer if it affects your choice.

No accuracy claim is published, so no condition applies.
Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Not verified

We have not verified this value. It is not a confirmed no or zero. Check the original source or ask the manufacturer if it affects your choice.

No accuracy claim is published, so no condition applies.
Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
0.05 mmResolution 0.05 to 10 mm in Laser HD mode and 0.2 to 10 mm in IR Rapid mode.
Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
0.05 mmPoint distance 0.05 to 3 mm in HD mode and 0.5 to 10 mm in Fast mode.
Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
10 mmMinimum scan volume 10 x 10 x 10 mm in Laser HD mode and 50 x 50 x 50 mm in IR Rapid mode.
Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Not verified

We have not verified this value. It is not a confirmed no or zero. Check the original source or ask the manufacturer if it affects your choice.

No minimum object size or scan volume is published; HD mode is described as for small objects.
Sources · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA product page and box listChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Not verified

We have not verified this value. It is not a confirmed no or zero. Check the original source or ask the manufacturer if it affects your choice.

No maximum object size is published. Maximum field of view is 490 x 580 mm in Laser HD and 1170 x 1385 mm in IR Rapid; the product page describes van interiors and full-body capture.
Sources · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 product page, bundles and box listChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Not verified

We have not verified this value. It is not a confirmed no or zero. Check the original source or ask the manufacturer if it affects your choice.

No maximum object size or field of view is published; Fast mode is described as for medium to large objects.
Sources · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA product page and box listChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Laser HD mode 100 to 600 mm; IR Rapid mode 160 to 1400 mm.
Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
HD mode 100 to 350 mm; Fast mode 270 to 1500 mm.
Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
90 fpsUp to 90 fps in Laser HD mode and up to 40 fps in IR Rapid mode. The specification page lists speed in points per second instead.
Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 product page, bundles and box listChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
20 fpsUp to 20 fps in Fast mode and up to 15 fps in HD mode.
Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Yes2.3 MP texture camera; integrated RGB colour capture.
Sources · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 product page, bundles and box listChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Yes48 MP texture camera.
Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
NoThe scanner links wirelessly or by cable to a computer running EXStar Hub; no built-in display or standalone operation is documented.
Sources · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 product page, bundles and box listChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
YesThe specification page states no computer is required for 3D scanning operation; built-in 6.4-inch 2K OLED touchscreen, 8-core 2.4 GHz CPU, 32 GB RAM and 32 GB eMMC plus 512 GB SSD.
Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Wireless connection to the computer with cable connection available if Wi-Fi interference occurs; USB Type-C; swappable 5500 mAh battery stated as up to 3 hours of scanning; supports a 60 W PD 3.0 charger.The battery runtime is a manufacturer statement, not a measured result.
Sources · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 product page, bundles and box listChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Wi-Fi 6 wireless scanning, sharing and screen casting; USB Type-C port; built-in 5000 mAh battery with 65 W PD/PPS fast charging and power-bank charging supported.Battery runtime is not published.
Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Windows 11 64-bit with an NVIDIA RTX 3060 Laptop GPU or above (6 GB VRAM), 32 GB DDR5 minimum (64 GB recommended), USB 3.0 and a 13th Gen Core i7-13700H or above; macOS Tahoe 26.2 on MacBook Pro M1 or MacBook M3 and above with 16 GB RAM minimum.The manufacturer recommends MacBook Pro M3 or above (Max and Ultra) with 24 GB RAM or more. This Mac model wording is ambiguous; confirm the exact supported Mac with SHINING 3D.
Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
No computer is required for scanning. The StarVision PC program for data processing runs on Windows 10/11 64-bit or macOS 11.0 on Apple silicon; recommended Intel i7 with 32 GB RAM.
Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
EXStar Hub is named as the software platform for EINSTAR 2 and Rockit; licence or subscription terms are not stated. EXModel Personal is a separately sold bundle option.Confirm the EXStar Hub licence terms with SHINING 3D before relying on them.
Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 product page, bundles and box listChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Scanning software runs on the device; the StarVision PC program is named for processing and SHINING 3D Cloud offers 5 GB of free storage. Licence or subscription terms are not stated.Confirm StarVision and cloud terms with SHINING 3D before relying on them.
Sources · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA product page and box listChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
420 gNet weight with battery; 348 g without battery. 130 x 37 x 61 mm.
Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
535 gRegular edition; the limited edition is listed at 643 g. 180 x 95 x 26.5 mm.
Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
EINSTAR 2 scanner, carrying case, calibration board, universal holder for the calibration board, power adapter, battery, battery compartment, battery compartment charging cable, Type-C cable for scanner and battery compartment, 3 mm and 6 mm markers, packing list.
Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 product page, bundles and box listChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Scanner, carrying case, calibration board, holder, power adapter, cable, wrist strap ring screw, 3 mm and 6 mm markers, SHINING mascot, packing list.The page spells the markers entry as Makers.
Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA product page and box listChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.
Questions to check before buying

SHINING 3D publishes no accuracy figure for EINSTAR 2 on its US pages; resolution and frame rate are manufacturer claims and no independent measurement is established here.

The EXStar Hub licence terms and the wireless link behaviour in your environment are not established by the retrieved pages.

SHINING 3D publishes no accuracy figure and no object size limits for EINSTAR VEGA on its US pages; resolution and frame rate are manufacturer claims and no independent measurement is established here.

Battery runtime and StarVision licence terms are not established by the retrieved pages.

Change these selections