Consumer 3D scanners / Comparison
See what changes
Choose up to five exact US purchase options. Compare documented differences and open each source for its conditions.
Handheld and desktop object scanners sold new in the US for hobby, maker and prosumer use, with their manufacturer-published specifications. Photogrammetry apps, LiDAR mapping scanners, dental and metrology systems and measured accuracy tests are outside this catalogue.
Scroll sideways to see every option. Open a field explanation or source for its conditions.
| Compare the details | EINSTAR 2 base bundle (US) | EINSTAR VEGA regular edition (US) |
|---|---|---|
| Community reviews | No community reviews yet. | No community reviews yet. |
| US purchase package | Bundle: EINSTAR 2 (SKU EINSTAR 2) on the EINSTAR US official store in USD; not EINSTAR 2 + EXModel Personal or EINSTAR 2 + Accessories No tripod, turntable or phone equipment is listed; the + Accessories bundle is a different selection. Sources · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 product page, bundles and box listChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. | Default Title single variant (SKU EINSTARVEGATX3-1) on the EINSTAR US official store in USD; regular edition, not the limited edition No tripod or turntable is listed. The specification page names a limited edition with a different weight; the store offers one variant. Sources · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA product page and box listChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
| Where to buy | Select: Bundle: EINSTAR 2 (SKU EINSTAR 2) on the EINSTAR US official store in USD; not EINSTAR 2 + EXModel Personal or EINSTAR 2 + Accessories View at EINSTAR US official store (SHINING 3D) — EINSTAR 2 base bundle (US); opens in a new tabThe link may open several packages. Check current price and availability with the seller. Opens in a new tab. | Select: Default Title single variant (SKU EINSTARVEGATX3-1) on the EINSTAR US official store in USD; regular edition, not the limited edition View at EINSTAR US official store (SHINING 3D) — EINSTAR VEGA regular edition (US); opens in a new tabThe link may open several packages. Check current price and availability with the seller. Opens in a new tab. |
Light source and scanning methodThe documented projection technology, light colour or wavelength class and any named scanning modes. Blue light, infrared and laser lines describe hardware. The label does not establish accuracy, speed or how a particular surface will scan. | Hybrid light source: Laser HD mode with 17 blue parallel laser lines (Class 2 laser) and IR Rapid mode with infrared VCSEL. Alignment by global marker, markers, features, texture or hybrid.Laser HD aligns by global marker or markers only; the feature, texture and hybrid options apply to IR Rapid.Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. | Infrared structured light: HD mode uses an infrared MEMS projector and Fast mode uses infrared VCSEL; 48 MP RGB texture camera. Alignment by feature, texture, markers or hybrid.The product page also lists 12 mm marker alignment and a scanning rewind function.Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
Headline accuracy claimThe manufacturer's published accuracy figure for this model, as a manufacturer-reported claim. Read the stated condition field with this number. Precision, point distance and resolution figures are different quantities and are not recorded here. | Not verifiedWe have not verified this value. It is not a confirmed no or zero. Check the original source or ask the manufacturer if it affects your choice. Sources · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 product page, bundles and box listChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. | Not verifiedWe have not verified this value. It is not a confirmed no or zero. Check the original source or ask the manufacturer if it affects your choice. Sources · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA product page and box listChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
Stated accuracy conditionThe definition, test environment or qualification the manufacturer attaches to its accuracy claim. A figure with no published condition is weaker evidence than one with a stated method. Neither is an independent measurement of your scanner. | Not verifiedWe have not verified this value. It is not a confirmed no or zero. Check the original source or ask the manufacturer if it affects your choice. Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. | Not verifiedWe have not verified this value. It is not a confirmed no or zero. Check the original source or ask the manufacturer if it affects your choice. Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
Finest resolution or point distance claimThe smallest published point distance or resolution setting. Point spacing describes how dense the captured data can be. It is not accuracy, and finer spacing does not remove alignment or tracking errors. | 0.05 mmResolution 0.05 to 10 mm in Laser HD mode and 0.2 to 10 mm in IR Rapid mode.Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. | 0.05 mmPoint distance 0.05 to 3 mm in HD mode and 0.5 to 10 mm in Fast mode.Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
Minimum object or scan volume edgeThe smallest recommended object size or minimum scan volume edge published by the manufacturer. Small objects may still need markers, a turntable or scanning spray. The limit is a recommendation, not a test of your part. | 10 mmMinimum scan volume 10 x 10 x 10 mm in Laser HD mode and 50 x 50 x 50 mm in IR Rapid mode.Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. | Not verifiedWe have not verified this value. It is not a confirmed no or zero. Check the original source or ask the manufacturer if it affects your choice. Sources · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA product page and box listChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
Maximum object size or field of viewThe largest recommended object size, scan volume or maximum single-capture field of view published by the manufacturer. Large objects are scanned in many passes. A published maximum does not establish how long a scan takes or how well frames will align. | Not verifiedWe have not verified this value. It is not a confirmed no or zero. Check the original source or ask the manufacturer if it affects your choice. Sources · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 product page, bundles and box listChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. | Not verifiedWe have not verified this value. It is not a confirmed no or zero. Check the original source or ask the manufacturer if it affects your choice. Sources · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA product page and box listChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
Working distanceThe published distance range between scanner and object, with any per-mode or capture-area detail. Working distance is a hardware range. Capture area, depth and tracking still depend on the mode, object and lighting. | Laser HD mode 100 to 600 mm; IR Rapid mode 160 to 1400 mm.Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. | HD mode 100 to 350 mm; Fast mode 270 to 1500 mm.Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
Maximum stated frame rateThe highest published scanning frame rate, with the mode in the note. Frame rate is a hardware maximum. It does not establish scan time, point density or that a lower-speed mode will not be needed. | 90 fpsUp to 90 fps in Laser HD mode and up to 40 fps in IR Rapid mode. The specification page lists speed in points per second instead.Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 product page, bundles and box listChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. | 20 fpsUp to 20 fps in Fast mode and up to 15 fps in HD mode.Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
Colour texture captureWhether the manufacturer documents an RGB camera and colour texture output for this model. Colour capture describes a feature, not texture quality. Lighting, flash use and surface finish still shape the result. | Yes2.3 MP texture camera; integrated RGB colour capture.Sources · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 product page, bundles and box listChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. | Yes48 MP texture camera.Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
Scans without a computer or phoneWhether the manufacturer documents scanning on the device itself with a built-in display and processing. A wireless link to a computer is not standalone operation. Standalone devices may still need a computer for later processing. | NoThe scanner links wirelessly or by cable to a computer running EXStar Hub; no built-in display or standalone operation is documented.Sources · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 product page, bundles and box listChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. | YesThe specification page states no computer is required for 3D scanning operation; built-in 6.4-inch 2K OLED touchscreen, 8-core 2.4 GHz CPU, 32 GB RAM and 32 GB eMMC plus 512 GB SSD.Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
Connection, wireless and powerDocumented ports, wireless links, battery and power inputs, including any adapter the phone route needs. Wi-Fi capability does not establish phone support. Check which host the manufacturer actually names and whether an adapter or grip is sold separately. | Wireless connection to the computer with cable connection available if Wi-Fi interference occurs; USB Type-C; swappable 5500 mAh battery stated as up to 3 hours of scanning; supports a 60 W PD 3.0 charger.The battery runtime is a manufacturer statement, not a measured result.Sources · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 product page, bundles and box listChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. | Wi-Fi 6 wireless scanning, sharing and screen casting; USB Type-C port; built-in 5000 mAh battery with 65 W PD/PPS fast charging and power-bank charging supported.Battery runtime is not published.Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
Computer and phone requirementsManufacturer-listed operating systems, minimum and recommended computer hardware and any mobile versions. A compatibility list is not a test of your device. Recommended requirements usually exceed minimums, and macOS and Windows limits differ. | Windows 11 64-bit with an NVIDIA RTX 3060 Laptop GPU or above (6 GB VRAM), 32 GB DDR5 minimum (64 GB recommended), USB 3.0 and a 13th Gen Core i7-13700H or above; macOS Tahoe 26.2 on MacBook Pro M1 or MacBook M3 and above with 16 GB RAM minimum.The manufacturer recommends MacBook Pro M3 or above (Max and Ultra) with 24 GB RAM or more. This Mac model wording is ambiguous; confirm the exact supported Mac with SHINING 3D.Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. | No computer is required for scanning. The StarVision PC program for data processing runs on Windows 10/11 64-bit or macOS 11.0 on Apple silicon; recommended Intel i7 with 32 GB RAM.Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
Software and licence termsThe named scanning software, whether it is stated as free, and any separately sold or time-limited licences. Free scanning software and paid CAD or cloud tools are separate facts. A bundle licence has a term; keep it apart from the hardware. | EXStar Hub is named as the software platform for EINSTAR 2 and Rockit; licence or subscription terms are not stated. EXModel Personal is a separately sold bundle option.Confirm the EXStar Hub licence terms with SHINING 3D before relying on them.Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 product page, bundles and box listChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. | Scanning software runs on the device; the StarVision PC program is named for processing and SHINING 3D Cloud offers 5 GB of free storage. Licence or subscription terms are not stated.Confirm StarVision and cloud terms with SHINING 3D before relying on them.Sources · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA product page and box listChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
Scanner weightThe published weight of the scanner body, with battery or edition conditions in the note. Body weight excludes grips, phones, cables and power banks you may hold with it. | 420 gNet weight with battery; 348 g without battery. 130 x 37 x 61 mm.Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. | 535 gRegular edition; the limited edition is listed at 643 g. 180 x 95 x 26.5 mm.Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA specification pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
Included equipmentAccessories explicitly listed as supplied with the selected US package. Turntables, tripods, phone grips, markers and spray in promotional images are not included unless the exact package lists them. Other editions have different contents. | EINSTAR 2 scanner, carrying case, calibration board, universal holder for the calibration board, power adapter, battery, battery compartment, battery compartment charging cable, Type-C cable for scanner and battery compartment, 3 mm and 6 mm markers, packing list.Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR 2 product page, bundles and box listChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. | Scanner, carrying case, calibration board, holder, power adapter, cable, wrist strap ring screw, 3 mm and 6 mm markers, SHINING mascot, packing list.The page spells the markers entry as Makers.Source · 2026-10-21SHINING 3D (EINSTAR): EINSTAR VEGA product page and box listChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
| Questions to check before buying | SHINING 3D publishes no accuracy figure for EINSTAR 2 on its US pages; resolution and frame rate are manufacturer claims and no independent measurement is established here. The EXStar Hub licence terms and the wireless link behaviour in your environment are not established by the retrieved pages. | SHINING 3D publishes no accuracy figure and no object size limits for EINSTAR VEGA on its US pages; resolution and frame rate are manufacturer claims and no independent measurement is established here. Battery runtime and StarVision licence terms are not established by the retrieved pages. |