Unmanaged 2.5GbE switches / Comparison
See what changes
Choose up to five exact US purchase options. Compare documented differences and open each source for its conditions.
Basic unmanaged copper switches for US buyers. Managed VLAN, routing and PoE-specific buying tasks require separate evidence and are not implied by these selections.
Scroll sideways to see every option. Open a field explanation or source for its conditions.
| Compare the details | XMG-108 (US selection) | QSW-1108-8T-R2-US (US selection) |
|---|---|---|
| Community reviews | No community reviews yet. | No community reviews yet. |
| US purchase package | Zyxel XMG-108, the non-PoE 8 x 2.5G switch with one 10G SFP+ uplink slot, new single unit; not XMG-108HP, MG-108, XMG-105 or a bundle with SFP+ modules. Single switch with its power adapter. No SFP/SFP+ transceiver, direct-attach cable, Ethernet cable or wall-mount screw is established as included. The seller, US plug type and current offer were not verified, and a second Amazon US listing also names XMG-108. No throughput or installation test is claimed. Sources · 2026-10-21Amazon: Zyxel XMG-108 Amazon US listingChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.Zyxel Networks: XMG100 Series US specifications: XMG-108 columnChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. | QSW-1108-8T-R2-US, new single switch; confirm the seller at checkout. Not the legacy QSW-1108-8T, the five-port QSW-1105-5T or a managed QSW-M model. Single standard US switch package. Confirm the R2 marking and the -US adapter; no live-stock, cabling-installation or throughput test is claimed. Ethernet patch cables are not listed. The bracket screws and anchors in QNAP's package list do not by themselves establish a wall-mount method. Sources · 2026-10-21Amazon: QNAP QSW-1108-8T-R2-US Amazon US listingChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.QNAP: QSW-1108-8T-R2 hardware specificationsChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
| Where to buy | Select: Zyxel XMG-108, the non-PoE 8 x 2.5G switch with one 10G SFP+ uplink slot, new single unit; not XMG-108HP, MG-108, XMG-105 or a bundle with SFP+ modules. View at Amazon — XMG-108 (US selection); opens in a new tabThe link may open several packages. Check current price and availability with the seller. Opens in a new tab. | Select: QSW-1108-8T-R2-US, new single switch; confirm the seller at checkout. Not the legacy QSW-1108-8T, the five-port QSW-1105-5T or a managed QSW-M model. View at Amazon — QSW-1108-8T-R2-US (US selection); opens in a new tabThe link may open several packages. Check current price and availability with the seller. Opens in a new tab. |
Copper Ethernet portsThe number of supplied switched copper ports. An uplink to another switch or router consumes a port. Count actual devices and reserve room for growth. | 8 portsEight 2.5GBASE-T copper ports. The separate 1G SFP/10G SFP+ uplink slot is not a copper port and is not counted here; Zyxel lists nine ports in total.Sources · 2026-10-21Zyxel Networks: XMG100 Series US specifications: XMG-108 columnChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Zyxel Networks: XMG-100 Series User's Guide, Version 1.00 Edition 4 (05/2024)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value. | 8 portsSources · 2026-10-21QNAP: QSW-1108-8T-R2 hardware specificationsChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.QNAP: QSW-1108-8T-R2 US product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
Maximum per-port link rateHighest nominal link speed of one copper port. The endpoint, cable and negotiated mode matter; this is not measured file throughput or internet speed. | 2.5 Gb/sHighest copper-port rate. The SFP+ slot is specified for 1 Gb/s or 10 Gb/s with an SFP or SFP+ transceiver.Sources · 2026-10-21Zyxel Networks: XMG100 Series US specifications: XMG-108 columnChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Zyxel Networks: XMG-100 Series User's Guide, Version 1.00 Edition 4 (05/2024)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value. | 2.5 Gb/sSources · 2026-10-21QNAP: QSW-1108-8T-R2 hardware specificationsChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.QNAP: QSW-1108-8T-R2 US product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
Advertised switching capacityAggregate switching capacity explicitly stated by the manufacturer. Do not treat a full-duplex aggregate as one port speed or calculate an undocumented rating from port count. | 60 Gb/sZyxel's aggregate figure for the nine-port switch; it is not the speed of one port.Source · 2026-10-21Zyxel Networks: XMG100 Series US specifications: XMG-108 columnChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. | 40 Gb/sQNAP separately lists 20 Gb/s total non-blocking throughput. Neither figure is the speed of one port.Sources · 2026-10-21QNAP: QSW-1108-8T-R2 hardware specificationsChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.QNAP: QSW-1108-8T-R2 US product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
Fanless designWhether the manufacturer explicitly describes a fanless enclosure. Fanless is not a tested acoustic result or permission to block ventilation. | YesSource · 2026-10-21Zyxel Networks: XMG100 Series US specifications: XMG-108 columnChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. | YesSource · 2026-10-21QNAP: QSW-1108-8T-R2 US product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
Management scopeThe configuration class of the selected switch. A basic unmanaged switch is not a substitute for an intentionally configured routing or isolation policy. | Unmanaged plug-and-play switch; loop detection, a flow-control button and 802.1p priority queuing are documented.Sources · 2026-10-21Zyxel Networks: XMG100 Series US specifications: XMG-108 columnChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Zyxel Networks: XMG-100 Series User's Guide, Version 1.00 Edition 4 (05/2024)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value. | Unmanaged plug-and-play switch with automatic loop detection.Sources · 2026-10-21QNAP: QSW-1108-8T-R2 hardware specificationsChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.QNAP: QSW-1108-8T-R2 US product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
Documented link modesManufacturer-listed negotiated port speeds. Check the actual network adapter and cable path. Faster local ports do not upgrade the internet connection. | 100 Mb/s, 1 Gb/s and 2.5 Gb/s on the copper ports; 1 Gb/s or 10 Gb/s on the SFP+ uplink slot.Sources · 2026-10-21Zyxel Networks: XMG-100 Series User's Guide, Version 1.00 Edition 4 (05/2024)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.Zyxel Networks: XMG100 Series US specifications: XMG-108 columnChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. | 100 Mb/s, 1 Gb/s and 2.5 Gb/s negotiation documented.Source · 2026-10-21QNAP: QSW-1108-8T-R2 US product pageChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
Published maximum consumptionMaximum power consumption reported for the reviewed revision. Do not confuse adapter capacity, maximum consumption and measured typical use. Different source conditions are not an efficiency benchmark. | 9.12 WManufacturer maximum, not a controlled energy comparison. The same table lists 9.12 W for the five-port XMG-105 and 1.56 W minimum for XMG-108.Source · 2026-10-21Zyxel Networks: XMG100 Series US specifications: XMG-108 columnChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. | 12 WManufacturer maximum for R2, not a controlled energy comparison. The legacy QSW-1108-8T figure is different and is not applied.Source · 2026-10-21QNAP: QSW-1108-8T-R2 hardware specificationsChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
Power adapter requirementThe documented external supply and unresolved regional details. Use the correct polarity, connector and rating. An Ethernet socket does not establish PoE powering. | External plug-in adapter with no separate power cord; 100-240 V AC, 50/60 Hz input is listed.The DC output rating and the plug type delivered in the US are not stated.Sources · 2026-10-21Zyxel Networks: XMG100 Series US specifications: XMG-108 columnChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified.Zyxel Networks: XMG-100 Series User's Guide, Version 1.00 Edition 4 (05/2024)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value. | External DC adapter; the input is listed as 12 V / 1 A. Confirm the adapter supplied with the -US part.The adapter's AC input rating and US plug are not stated in the reviewed table.Source · 2026-10-21QNAP: QSW-1108-8T-R2 hardware specificationsChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
Mounting optionsDocumented desktop or wall installation options. Wall-mount capability does not prove screws or anchors suit your particular surface. | Desktop or wall mounting; wall mounting uses two M4 screws spaced 188 mm apart, with optional anchors.The guide does not list the screws or anchors as supplied.Source · 2026-10-21Zyxel Networks: XMG-100 Series User's Guide, Version 1.00 Edition 4 (05/2024)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value. | Desktop form factor. Bracket screws and anchors are packed, but the specification gives no wall-mounting method.Wall mounting is not asserted from the packed hardware alone.Source · 2026-10-21QNAP: QSW-1108-8T-R2 hardware specificationsChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
Included equipmentThe reviewed standard package contents. Ethernet patch cables and accessories are separate unless the selected package lists them. | Switch and power adapter are documented. No SFP/SFP+ transceiver, Ethernet cable or wall-mount screws are listed.Zyxel's guide gives no complete packing list; confirm the delivered box.Sources · 2026-10-21Zyxel Networks: XMG-100 Series User's Guide, Version 1.00 Edition 4 (05/2024)Checked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value.Amazon: Zyxel XMG-108 Amazon US listingChecked 2026-10-21. Read the original source and its check date before relying on this value. | Power supply, bracket screws, anchors, foot pads and quick installation guide are listed.Source · 2026-10-21QNAP: QSW-1108-8T-R2 hardware specificationsChecked 2026-10-21. We reviewed the official page text on the check date. Checkout options were not verified. |
| Questions to check before buying | Zyxel's US table lists 9.12 W maximum for both the five- and eight-port non-PoE models; confirm the rating on the delivered unit's label. The reviewed Amazon US listing names XMG-108 without a Zyxel SKU suffix or an established seller, and a second Amazon US listing also names XMG-108; the plug type was not verified. XMG-108 is not the PoE XMG-108HP, the earlier MG-108 without an SFP+ slot or the XGS1010-12. SFP+ module compatibility is not established here. | QNAP labels the earlier QSW-1108-8T as Legacy and lists 18 W and 12 V / 1.5 A for it; confirm the R2 marking on the delivered unit before applying these figures. QNAP lists both 40 Gb/s switching capacity and 20 Gb/s total non-blocking throughput. Neither is a single-link speed or a measured transfer result. The Amazon US listing names QSW-1108-8T-R2-US, but the adapter plug and box contents were not checked at checkout. |