Buying guide 01 / Smart thermostats

Choose a smart thermostat: HVAC support, the C wire and platforms

Read the manufacturer's stage and accessory list against your wiring, decide how the thermostat will be powered and separate named platforms from Matter before picking an exact US package.

By · Published · Reviewed

On this page

A smart thermostat replaces a low-voltage control that already matches your furnace, air conditioner or heat pump. The useful order is to identify your system first, then the power approach, then the sensors, platforms and account the package actually documents. Screen size and marketing savings figures come last, if at all.

Count your stages and accessories first

Follow the manufacturer's instructions to switch off power to the HVAC equipment and verify that it is off before exposing any wiring. Then remove the old thermostat cover and write down which terminals have wires: R or Rc and Rh, C, W1 and W2, Y1 and Y2, G, O/B, AUX or E, and any accessory wires for a humidifier, dehumidifier or ventilator. Manufacturers publish compatibility as stage counts. ecobee states 2H/2C conventional and 2H/2C heat pump plus 2 stages of AUX heat for the Smart Thermostat Premium, while the Essential supports two stages of heat or two stages of cool, not both. Google lists up to three heating and three cooling stages and heat pumps up to three stages for the Nest Learning Thermostat (4th gen), but only one stage of heating and cooling with a second stage of either for the Nest Thermostat. Honeywell Home publishes up to 2 heat/2 cool conventional and up to 2 heat/1 cool heat pump with electric backup for the X2S.

Treat every one of these as a manufacturer statement about what the control can switch, not as a guarantee that it will install cleanly in your home. Dual-fuel systems, zone panels, line-voltage baseboard heat and boilers without a C wire are the usual exceptions, and each manufacturer points to its own compatibility checker. A heat pump adds a reversing-valve wire and often auxiliary heat, so a heat pump stage count is not interchangeable with a conventional one.

Accessory control is a separate claim

Controlling a humidifier, dehumidifier or ventilator depends on dedicated terminals, and the limits matter. ecobee documents one 1-wire or one 2-wire accessory on the Premium and no accessory terminal on the Essential. Google documents HUM, DEHUM and VENT on the Learning Thermostat (4th gen), with a shared connector that accepts only one of several possible extra wires. The Nest Thermostat and the X2S pages document no accessory control at all. If you have more than one accessory, or a self-powered accessory that needs an isolation relay, read the wiring documentation rather than the feature list.

Decide how the thermostat will be powered

Most smart thermostats are hardwired through the 24 V common, or C, wire. Packages differ in what happens when that wire is missing. Honeywell Home simply states that a C wire is required for the X2S. ecobee includes a Power Extender Kit in the Premium box and sells the same kit separately for the Essential. Google designs both Nest thermostats to work without a C wire in most homes, using Power Sharing and a rechargeable battery on the Learning Thermostat and AAA backup batteries on the Nest Thermostat, but says that heating-only, cooling-only, zone-controlled and some heat pump systems may still need a C wire or a separately sold Nest Power Connector.

Because the adapter or extender is package-level, check the box list of the exact listing you intend to buy. A kit bundled in one channel, promoted as free in another or marked optional in a specification table is not the same as a part in your box. Battery backup keeps settings and the display alive; it does not replace the 24 V circuit that powers the equipment relays.

Sensors in the box and sensors in the thermostat

Two kinds of sensing are easy to confuse. The first is what the thermostat itself measures. All five catalogued models document temperature; ecobee and Google document humidity, and ecobee Premium, the Nest Learning Thermostat and the Nest Thermostat document a built-in motion or radar occupancy sensor. ecobee Premium is the only one of the five whose page claims a built-in indoor air quality monitor, and the sensed parameters are not published. The second is the remote sensor in the package: one SmartSensor with the ecobee Premium and one Nest Temperature Sensor (2nd gen) with the Learning Thermostat, none listed with the Essential or Nest Thermostat, while the X2S box contents are not published. Google also states that the Nest Thermostat is not compatible with the Nest Temperature Sensor, so zero sensors in a box can mean either an optional purchase or no support at all.

Separate named platforms, Matter and the required app

The documented apps are the ecobee app, the Google Home app or the Resideo Connect app listed as First Alert by Resideo. Check the setup and account requirements for the exact model; the retrieved X2S page does not state its account requirements. Beyond that, read platform claims literally. ecobee names Apple HomeKit, Alexa, Google Assistant and, for the Premium, SmartThings, and does not mention Matter or Thread. Google states Matter certification for both Nest thermostats and names Google Home and Alexa, not Apple. Honeywell Home footnotes Matter certification for the X2S and also names Apple Home, Alexa and Google Assistant. A Matter-certified thermostat may appear in an Apple or Amazon app through a Matter controller, but that path is not the same as a native integration the manufacturer names, and an 802.15.4 or sub-GHz radio in a spec table is not a Thread claim.

Subscriptions are usually optional. ecobee's Smart Security plan unlocks security features such as smoke alarm sound detection, and filter delivery is a separate subscription; core heating and cooling control does not depend on them. Google's Nest Renew is described as a free opt-in service.

Confirm the exact US package

Before ordering, match the seller, color or SKU, the box list and the current manufacturer page. Model numbers are not always shown on manufacturer pages, so keep the listing name and the box contents together. Where a page omits the display type, humidity sensing or box contents, as the X2S page does, record the gap rather than assuming the answer. Energy savings percentages on these pages are marketing claims tied to the manufacturer's own comparison baseline; they are not recorded as facts in this catalogue and should not decide the purchase. The comparison tables are a checklist of sourced statements, not a ranking, a price feed or a tested installation.

Common questions

Is a published compatibility list a guarantee my system will work?

No. It is the manufacturer's statement of the stages and accessories the control can switch. Use the manufacturer's compatibility checker with your actual wire list, and expect exceptions for dual-fuel, zoned, line-voltage and boiler systems.

If a thermostat works without a C wire, do I never need one?

No. Google and ecobee both describe cases where a C wire, a power extender or a power connector is still needed. Check whether the exact package includes that part or sells it separately.

Does Matter certification mean HomeKit support?

Not as recorded here. Matter control can let a thermostat appear in Apple Home through a Matter controller, but this catalogue records HomeKit support only when the manufacturer names Apple HomeKit or Apple Home.

Sources & further reading

  • How to turn the power off to your systemChecked 2026-10-23

    Official safety instructions consulted for switching off power to the HVAC system and verifying that it is off before thermostat wiring work. This source supports the power-isolation prerequisite only; it does not verify compatibility or installation in a particular home.

  • Smart Thermostat Premium product page and specificationsChecked 2026-10-21

    Current manufacturer page read for the stage list, accessory support, radios, display, sensors and the box list. Savings percentages on the page are marketing claims and are not recorded as facts. No model number is shown.

  • Smart Thermostat Essential product page and specificationsChecked 2026-10-21

    Read for terminals (C, R, G/PEK, Y1, OB, W1), stage statements, Wi-Fi 6 at 2.4 GHz, display and the box list. The Power Extender Kit and Trim Kit are listed as separate purchases. Savings claims are marketing and not recorded as facts.

  • Nest Learning Thermostat (4th gen) specs and wiring compatibilityChecked 2026-10-21

    Manufacturer store spec page read for the terminal and stage list, Power Sharing statement, Wi-Fi, sensors, display, Matter and the box list including one Nest Temperature Sensor (2nd gen).

  • Nest Thermostat tech specsChecked 2026-10-21

    Read for compatibility wording, the C wire statement, AAA backup batteries, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, sensors, display, Matter certification, the separately sold trim plate and the box list.

  • Learn about the Nest Temperature SensorChecked 2026-10-21

    Lists the Nest Learning Thermostat (3rd and 4th gen) and Nest Thermostat E as compatible thermostats. The Nest Thermostat is not on the list.

  • X2S Smart Thermostat RTH2CWF/U product pageChecked 2026-10-21

    Manufacturer store page read for the stage table, C-wire requirement, Wi-Fi bands, Matter certification, platform list, app name and warranty. Box contents, display technology and humidity sensing are not stated. The page showed a backorder notice when checked.

See our methodology for source labels and limitations. Product evidence dates are shown beside the corresponding specifications.

Suggest a correction