Buying guide 01 / Dehumidifiers

Choose a dehumidifier: capacity, drainage and controls

Separate daily water-removal claims from bucket volume and plan the drain route, operating space and exact package.

By · Published · Reviewed

On this page

Start with the water route

Decide where the collected water can go before choosing a model. A bucket requires access and emptying; a hose needs a suitable route; an upward discharge may require a pump within its documented limits. The selected Midea Cube has a pump, while the three Frigidaire sheets explicitly say no pump. Do not transfer a feature from a similarly named model.

Midea exact pump model

Read the units and conditions

Daily extraction and bucket volume answer different questions. The former is a rated flow under conditions; the latter is physical storage. LG explicitly qualifies its approximate daily result by Boost Mode and test conditions. Other reviewed sources do not state the whole basis, so those rows remain unknown rather than being assigned the LG conditions.

LG mode-qualified capacity footnote

Do not turn a marketing area into a fit guarantee

Room suitability cannot be inferred from a single maximum-area claim when moisture load, temperature and layout are unknown. The Midea page itself contains inconsistent area wording, which this comparison deliberately excludes. Use the exact manual and the actual operating situation rather than choosing the largest advertising number.

Midea source qualifications

Measure the operating arrangement

Allow room for the tank, hoses, controls and maintenance, not just the closed body. The Cube supports different configurations. A compact stored size is not a verified operating footprint. Listed dry weight also excludes collected water, so plan handling separately from the product weight row.

Frigidaire body and access starting point

Treat the app and accessories as separate checks

All five selected pages document app control, but the application, account, network and device requirements still need checking. No installed app workflow is tested here. Optional advanced filters, hose kits and replacement parts are not supplied merely because the model supports them. Verify the final US model and packing list before purchase.

Frigidaire optional-filter distinction

Common questions

Does a 50-pint label describe the bucket?

Not when it is a daily extraction rating. Read the units and the separate bucket-volume row.

Manufacturer capacity and bucket specification

Have these dehumidifiers been tested by CompareFoundry?

No. The comparisons use manufacturer evidence and retain unresolved conditions.

Sources & further reading

  • MAD50PS1QWT-B US productChecked 2026-10-11

    The model identifier and pump are clear; the page gives inconsistent area claims. No room-area suitability or extended-mode dimensions are inferred.

  • FHDD2234W1 US productChecked 2026-10-11

    The exact US product page was read. Seller inventory and delivery were not checked; optional PureAir filtration is not included by default.

  • FHDD3534W1 US productChecked 2026-10-11

    The exact US product page was read. Seller inventory and delivery were not checked; optional PureAir filtration is not included by default.

  • FHDD5034W1 US productChecked 2026-10-11

    The exact US product page was read. Seller inventory and delivery were not checked; optional PureAir filtration is not included by default.

  • DT501BKR0 US product and capacity footnoteChecked 2026-10-11

    The capacity footnote names DT501BKR0 and Boost Mode. Pump, full dimensions and packing list were not established; image alt text is not used as a numeric specification.

  • FHDD2234W specification sheet 03/25Checked 2026-10-11

    Manufacturer-linked specification PDF downloaded and its complete table visually verified on 11 October 2026. The sheet does not state complete capacity test conditions or noise measurement distance.

  • FHDD3534W specification sheet 03/25Checked 2026-10-11

    Manufacturer-linked specification PDF downloaded and its complete table visually verified on 11 October 2026. The sheet does not state complete capacity test conditions or noise measurement distance.

  • FHDD5034W specification sheet 07/25Checked 2026-10-11

    Manufacturer-linked specification PDF downloaded and its complete table visually verified on 11 October 2026. The sheet does not state complete capacity test conditions or noise measurement distance.

See our methodology for source labels and limitations. Product evidence dates are shown beside the corresponding specifications.

Suggest a correction